This guide provides a handlist of manuscripts at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library that are dated to 1600 or earlier, along with information on resources for conducting research on medieval and early modern manuscripts. It was prepared by N. Kıvılcım Yavuz based on first-hand examination of manuscripts and related accession materials and legacy records during her time as Ann Hyde Postdoctoral Researcher at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library at the University of Kansas (September 2019-August 2022).
If you have any questions or comments, please contact Elspeth Healey, Special Collections Librarian.
About Kenneth Spencer Research Library and Its Collections
Kenneth Spencer Research Library is the rare books, manuscripts, and archives library of the University of Kansas. The Library is home to Special Collections (established in 1953), the Kansas Collection (founded before the turn of the twentieth century by the University's first librarian, Carrie Watson), and the University Archives (established in 1969).
The Library is open to all researchers, regardless of academic affiliation or place of residence.
The majority of the manuscript holdings of the Kenneth Spencer Research Library have records (with varying degrees of detail) as part of the online KU Libraries Catalog, with a small number also having Finding Aids. Records will be made available also on the Digital Scriptorium, the digital platform of the consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Digitized manuscripts may be consulted on the KU Libraries - Digital Collections platform.
How to Consult Manuscripts at at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library
Kenneth Spencer Research Library is open to all researchers, regardless of academic affiliation or place of residence. Manuscripts can be consulted at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library Marilyn Stokstad Reading Room. See the Use Collections page on the Kenneth Spencer Research Library website for further details.