What's a library database?
What's a library database? (RMIT University, Australia)
Google bias--why you can't rely on Google
Google vs. Databases
https://salve.libguides.com/researchbasics/finding-articles#s-lg-box-26920040
Begin your research with multi-disciplinary databases
To begin your research, the following databases offer multiple results in a wide-range of subject areas. For additional results in databases that are focused on specific areas, follow the link to Databases listed by Subject. All of the databases require a login with authentication and are licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Academic Search CompleteGreat place to look for general periodicals post 1980. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. Find scholarly journals, popular sources, and more.
- Web of ScienceIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present).
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Sociological AbstractsSearch here for articles that cover social aspects related to migration and diaspora--historical topics included.
- Access World News - News BankFeatures thousands of U.S. and global news sources, including wire services, popular magazines, newspapers, and much more.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowContains over 13,000 news sources from over 200 countries and territories.
- Newspaper Source PlusProvides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers and selective full text for 410 U.S newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.
Research Skills - Link to additional resource page
See additional pages in this guide related to Research Skills.