Recommended KU Libraries Databases
Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed. The subscription includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.
Academic OneFile provides access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
American firms operating in foreign countries
Contains American companies that have a substantial investment in overseas operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary, affiliate or branch.
Provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.
This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. The database also holds country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch. Business Source Premier contains expanded indexing and abstract backfiles for 300 top scholarly business journals dating back to 1965, or the first issue published (whichever is more recent). Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports from Datamonitor, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
This database allows the user to research corporate hierarchies ("who owns whom") to the seventh level of reporting relationships, starting with as little information as a brand name. The Directory of Corporate Affiliations(tm) database covers more than 200,000 of the most prominent U.S. and international public and private businesses and includes information about parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions worldwide to help you research corporate ownership. Please click on LOGOUT when done searching.
Offers full content access to journals published by Emerald in the EMX 125 and Engineering collections. Subjects covered include management, HRM, marketing, librarianship, mechanical and electrical engineering.
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
Foreign firms operating in the United States
Foreign firms listed have a substantial investment in American operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary, affiliate or branch.
General OneFile indexes newspapers, newswires and a collection of refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, general interest magazines as well as specialty titles in law, health care and computers. General OneFile includes more than 4,200 full-text titles; five newspaper indexes -- a total of nearly 8,000 titles in all with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
IBISWorld's team of expert analysts covers 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents market research and industry information, and each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format. IBISWorld Industry Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more
JSTOR (To access PDF articles, your browser must allow pop-ups for this site)
Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences I Collection; Arts and Sciences II Collection; Arts and Sciences III Collection; Arts and Sciences IV Collection; Arts and Sciences VII; and, Life Sciences Collection.
The Kansas City Business Journal gives access to local business news in Kansas City and 39 other cities around the U.S. with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses. The integrated archival files contain more than 750,000 business news articles published since 1996 in all 40 city business journals. This database provides an exact replica of the weekly newspaper, as well as special publications produced by this company including "Best Places to Work" and the popular "Book of Lists" for each city. Users can download PDFs, or search and print individual articles or pages. Please note that each individual business journal title contained in this database may be searched in the ejournals catalog. Each record contains a URL linking users to that specific journal.
KU ScholarWorks is a digital repository for scholarly work created by the faculty and staff of the University of Kansas. KU ScholarWorks makes important research available to a wider audience and helps assure its long-term preservation.
ProQuest dissertations and theses
PQDT provides online access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Offers information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
Research Library is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The database includes more than 3820 titles -- over 2550 in full text -- from 1971 forward. Topics covered include arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Regional business news incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for these regional business publications.
Small Business Reference Center
Provides up-to-date information on topics related to starting a company, operations management, sales, and growing or rescuing a business.
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.
