Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford English dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is the guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
C19
- C19, the nineteenth century index This link opens in a new windowC19 Index includes the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online, and American Periodicals Series. It indexes books, government publications, archival collections, and serials.
Online Reference Work Collections
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowCambridge Core is the academic platform from Cambridge University Press. It replaces Cambridge Histories Online, Cambridge Companions Online [including Literature and Classics, Music, and Philosphy, Religion, and Culture], and Shakespeare Survey Online, and combines content from them all.
- Oxford reference This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable online database of Oxford University Press subject dictionaries and reference works. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)
Other Reference Titles
We own many reference titles in print and electronically. Print titles located in our Reference collection must be used in the library. Other reference works located in the regular stacks may be able to be borrowed. Example print and ebook reference titles (in addition to those listed under the Getting Started tab) include:
Early American Nature Writers: A Biographical Encyclopedia by Call Number: PS163 .E18 2008ISBN: 0313346801Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature (3 vols) by Call Number: PR447 .E55 2012ISBN: 1405188103Publication Date: 2012
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy (3 vols) by
"A Companion to the Literature and Culture of the American West presents a series of essays that explore the historic and contemporary cultural expressions rooted in America's western states" (from publisher).
Call Number: PS374.S35 G74 2005ISBN: 0313329508Publication Date: 2005
Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia (3 vols) by Call Number: PN56.S8 S86 2005ISBN: 0313327742Publication Date: 2005
MLA Handbook (8th edition) by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016
