ENGL 800: Methods, Theory and Professionalism: Getting Started

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is the guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Literature Online (LION) provides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language--poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; the MLA International Bibliography; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries. Individual units run from Anglo-Saxon literature, through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the 18th and 19th centuries right up to the late 20th Century. The geographical span includes England, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the West Indies, Africa, and South Asia. LION also offers comprehensive cross-searching of EEBO - Early English Books Online (see primary sources tab).

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Includes essays on the history of specific publishing companies.