Searching for KU theses and dissertations
The best tool to search for both print and electronic theses and dissertations is through the Quick Search (Primo) which includes records in the catalog, KU ScholarWorks, and the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. The practice of adding records to the catalog for theses and dissertations ceased 2014. Therefore records to the currently digitized theses and dissertations from 1883 to 1922 are located in KU ScholarWorks or through the Quick Search.
This screen indicates how to search for a dissertation title specific to KU through the Advanced Search option.
Databases for finding dissertations and theses
Sources for locating dissertations and theses specific to KU
- Dissertations & theses @ University of Kansas This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of KU dissertations published after 1996 and KU theses published after 2005.
- KU Scholarworks - Dissertations and Theses communityThese collections contain dissertations and theses authored by University of Kansas students. Current works are posted here in fulfillment of graduation requirements.
- KU Library CatalogIf not available electronically, older dissertations and theses can also be identified through the libraries' catalog.
Other options for locating dissertations and theses
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to dissertations and master's theses most available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database.
- American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new windowThis freely accessible database indexes thousands of theses and dissertations by American universities from 1902 to the present and provides links to full text where available.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new windowIndexes electronic theses and dissertations from across the globe.
- Defense Technical Information CenterSite includes technical reports, journal articles, dissertations, briefs and more relating to defense and military systems
- Center for Research Libraries catalog This link opens in a new windowDissertations available at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) can be searched through the Center's catalog. Non-U.S. and non-Canadian doctoral dissertations are added to CRL's collections. If unavailable, CRL will purchase through their demand purchase program and can be requested using KU Libraries' interlibrary program.
Research Help
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.