How to Select and Use Citation Management Tools: EndNote

This guide contains information on different tools that will make citing sources in your papers easier.

EndNote Overview

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management application that academic writers can use to streamline and simplify the research and writing process. You can export citation information to EndNote from online searches, attach PDF files to the citations in your library, then save time by creating an automatic bibliography in Word from your EndNote library.

Features

  • Free to KU students, faculty and staff     
  • Web + desktop access (sync or solo)

With EndNote, you can

  • Collect references from various databases, websites, and catalogs
  • Organize references in groups and group sets for managing large projects
  • Import and attach article PDFs, folders, images, video and audio files
  • Read, annotate, highlight and make notes using the built-in document reader
  • Write your papers using 'Cite While You Write' feature to:
    • instantly insert in-text citations and bibliographies in numerous citation styles
    • create footnotes
  • Team access - share and collaborate references with colleagues

Upcoming EndNote Workshops

Would you like to attend a free EndNote Workshop? Click here to visit the EndNote page on the KU Information Technology calendar.

Tricks, Time-Savers and Advanced How-To

Managing EndNote's Output

Sharing EndNote Libraries

Other Helpful Guides

Using EndNote with Other Programs

Subject Specialist

Paul Thomas's picture
Paul Thomas
Contact:
(785) 864-6944

Now Available by Skpye

EndNote Training Videos

EndNote Links

Links

KU Infotraining: Calendar of Free Workshops  Free, in-person EndNote workshops and more!

Importing KU Library references to EndNote  Some of the different databases (JSTOR, EBSCO-Host, Pro-Quest, etc) have different formats for sending citation information to EndNote. Here's a collection of KU databases that work with EndNote and step-by-step export instructions for each one.

EndNote product training from Thomson Reuters  Tutorials and training from the EndNote website.

Additional Output Styles for EndNote  Over 5,000 styles are available for EndNote. If your EndNote download did not come with the style you need, check for it here.

Working with Output Styles  A great, in-depth explanation of output styles from the University of Toledo. For more on output styles, visit the KU Writing Center's Guide on

Citing/Documenting your Sources A citation guide by the KU Writing Center

Additional Filters for EndNote While EndNote installs with a set of filters (downloading formats) in place, there are several more that you can add manually. From this site, you can download all of them at once or choose specific filters or groups.

EndNote Filters and Instructions  This page from the Columbia University Libraries includes both the database and the information provider -- a fantastic and time-saving reference tool if you're trying to download just one specific filter and struggling to figure out which provider goes with database.

Create an EndNote Web account    Access and up to 5 GB of file storage on EndNote Web is included with your KU EndNote download. After registering for your free account, you can synchronize your desktop EndNote library with your EndNote Web library and then use e-mail addresses to create collections of references that can be shared with colleagues.

EndNote Web Quick Reference Card   A targeted how-to for EndNote Web.

Thomson and Reuters tech support: 800-336-4474 (at the prompts dial 4, 1, 1).