Textbooks
-
Speaking in images : interviews with contemporary Chinese Filmmakers
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 B49 2005 (Watson)ISBN: 0231133308New York : Columbia University Press, c2005. -
The urban generation : Chinese cinema and society at the turn of the twenty-first century
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 U73 2007 (Watson)ISBN: 9780822340539Durham : Duke University Press, 2007.
Assigned Readings
-
At full speed : Hong Kong cinema in a borderless world
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 A184 2001 (Watson)ISBN: 0816632340 (HC)Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, c2001. -
Chinese films in focus II
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C4594 2008 (Watson)ISBN: 1844572366 (hbk.)Basingstoke [England] ; New York : BFI/Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. -
Transnational Chinese cinemas : identity, nationhood, gender
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 T65 1997ISBN: 0824818458Honolulu, HI : University of Hawaii Press, 1997.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.
Chinese Popular Culture (EALC 590)
Dr. Hui Xiao W 2:30 - 5:00pm Wescoe 4047
This course examines recent developments of Chinese cinema, culture and society since 2000. Students are expected to view featured and documentary films, TV dramas and reality shows of contemporary China. They will also learn theories and methodologies of film, media, and cultural studies and strive to understand the ways in which global modernity has shaped Chinese cinema, culture and society.
This research guide provides library resources and other available resources for the study of this course. Research skills to find print materials in the library catalog, WorldCat, Interlibrary Loan Services, electronic databases, and bibliography citation tools are included. Interested students should contact Chinese Studies Librarian (vdoll@ku.edu) for assistance.
Video Recordings
-
Fei cheng wu rao [videorecording] = If you are the one
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .F45 2008 Watson Library Reserve - In Library Use OnlyISBN: 9787885798161 -
Hero = Ying Xiong [videorecording]
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .Y4872 2002 (Watson Video Collection)Subtitles: English, traditional Chinese, and simplified Chinese. -
Hou Xiaoxian jing dian dian ying xi lie [videorecording]
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.A1 H68 2000z Watson Library - Video Collection (4th Floor)In Chinese with optional Chinese or Japanese or English subtitles. A collection of Hou Xiaoxian’s five classic films.
風櫃來的人 Fenggui lai de ren = The boys from Fengkuei
冬冬的假期 Dongdong de jia qi = A summer at grandpa’s
戏梦人生 Xi meng ren sheng = Le maitre de marionnettes
咖啡时光 Ke fei shi guang
千禧曼波 Xian xi man bo
5 videodiscs : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. -
Lust, Caution = Se, jie [videorecording]
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .S42 2007 (Watson Reserve)In Mandarin, with optional English, English SDH, French or Spanish subtitles; credits in English and Chinese.
watch it online (accessed 2014-03-14) -
Postmodern life of my aunt = Yi ma de hou xian dai sheng huo [videorecording]
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .Y53 2007 (Watson Reserve)In Mandarin with Chinese/English subtitles.English. -
Red sorghun in Se cai da shi Zhang Yimou dian ying zuo pin zhen cang ji [videorecording] == Zhang Yimou film of artistic
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.A1 Z43 2000zA collection of Zhang Yimou’s three classic films.
[disc 1-2.] 代號美洲豹 Dai hao Mei Zhou bao, 大紅燈籠高高掛 Da hong deng long gao gao gua, [disc 3.] 红高粱 Hong gao liang = Red Sorghun -
The Story of Qiuju = Qiuju da guan si [videorecording]
by
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .Q28 2000z (Watson Video Collection)Based on the novel "Wan jia su song" by Chen Yuanbin.(In Chinese with optional subtitles in Chinese and English.)