Find Books and More
KUCat+ search (note: not all Asian studies databases are included)
KU Library Catalog: Search Help
Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
- Romanization of East Asian scripts and library catalog searchFind Romanization and catalog search help
Reference Databases
- Digital Dictionaries of South Asia"This project is closely affiliated with the Digital South Asia Library" provided by the University of Chicago.
Reference Books
The New Cambridge history of India (Cambridge histories online)Publication Date: Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, c2008.A set of eBooks. Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Encyclopedia of India [electronic resource] by ISBN: 9780684315126Publication Date: Detroit, Mich. : Charles Scribner’s Sons : Thomson Gale, 2006.eBook. (Source: Gale virtual reference library)
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically. For students and general readers.Hinduism [electronic resource] : introduction by
Publication Date: New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2005], c1999.1 streaming video file (29 min.) : sd., col., digital file.
Fully 80 percent of India’s vast population follow the way of Hinduism, an ancient yet vibrant religion. This overview-filled with evocative images of India and its people, architecture, and sacred works-provides a stimulating glimpse of a spiritual way of life that is expansive yet tolerant, sublime yet practical, and supportive of individual expression. The history of Hinduism’s development and reformation; spiritual concepts such as karma, dharma, and God as both one and many; the numerous Hindu scriptures; and Hindu worship practices are explored in this intriguing educational resource.
Historical dictionary of India by Call Number: DS405 .M27 1996Publication Date: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow, 1996.
South Asian literature in English : an encyclopedia by Call Number: PR9570.S642 S67 2004Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.South Asian literature (English) --Encyclopedias.
English literature --South Asian authors --Encyclopedias.
South Asian folklore : an encyclopedia : Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka by Call Number: GR302 .S68 2003Publication Date: New York : Routledge, 2003.
