Selected Journals
Archives of Asian Art. E-version from 2008; Archives of Asian Art, Backfile from v.1, 1945-v.21, 1968; Archives of Asian Art, Backfile from no.22, 1968-current. An annual journal devoted to the arts of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Each issue presents articles by leading scholars and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums during the previous year. The editors attempt to maintain a balanced representation of regions and types of art, as well as a variety of scholarly perspectives. KU Professors Marsha Weidner Haufler and Sherry Fowler both serve on the Editorial Board.
ArtAsiaPacific Bi-monthly magazine that explores and documents the contemporary arts of the Asia and Pacific regions. Includes commentary, exhibition reviews, essays, and auction reports.
Artibus Asiae. Semi-annual publication of scholarly articles and research notes devoted to the history of art and archaeology of Asia. Initiated in 1925, it is now published by the Museum Rietberg Zurich in cooperation with the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C. Professor Amy McNair from KU is currently editor-in-chief.
AsianArt.com. Online journal for the study and exhibition of Asian art. Includes information on associations, exhibitions, articles, and galleries along with a forum, calendar, links and books.
Asian Art News Bi-monthly journal that covers Asia-Pacific art and artists for collectors, museum, galleries and artists.
Asian Art Newspaper Monthly newspaper offering a snapshot of what's happening in the world of Asian and Islamic art around the globe. Each month it includes an interview with an artist, as well as covering all the major international exhibitions, auctions, art fairs and other events. Includes the performing arts, film and literature and each year produces special guides within the newspaper that cover the main Asia weeks around the world.
Orientations, Published 8 times per year and intended for collectors and connoisseurs of Asian art. It presents the ancient arts of painting, calligraphy, bronzes, and ceramics as well as the decorative arts and crafts. Coverage of contemporary artists also included.