Textbook
The Question of Women in Chinese Feminism by Call Number: HQ1767 .B37 2004ISBN: 0822332817Durham : Duke University Press, 2004
Biography
Autobiography of a Chinese woman, Buwei Yang Chao by Call Number: CT1828.C5 A3New York, The John Day Company [1947]
click here to get access to the electronic version of this book.
Qiu Ti 丘堤 by Call Number: folio ND1049.Q586 b A4 2006ISBN: 7534377552Nanjing Shi : Jiangsu jiao yu chu ban she, 2006.
In Chinese and English.
The painter from Shanghai by Call Number: PS3605.P646 P35 2008ISBN: 0393065286New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2008.- Hua hun 画魂 : Zhang Yuliang zhuan byCall Number: PL2899.H2756 H8 1983Beijing : Ren min wen xue chu ban she : Xin hua shu dian Beijing fa xing suo fa xing, 1983.
Wo ye shi Lu Xun de yi wu : Zhu An zhuan 我也是鲁迅的遗物 by Call Number: PL2754.S5 Z59556 2009ISBN: 7807453648Shanghai : Shanghai she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she, 2009.
Literature
Farewell to My Concubine by Call Number: PL2877.P48 P2713 1993ISBN: 0688120202Publication Date: 1993-09-01New York : W. Morrow, c1993
Love in a fallen city = Qing Cheng Zhi Lian by Call Number: PL2837.E35 Q5613 2007ISBN: 1590171780New York : New York Review Books, c2007.
Lust, caution and other stories by Call Number: PL2837.E35 A2 2007ISBN: 9780141034386London : Penguin, 2007.
Wild swans : three daughters of China by Call Number: DS774 .C3718 1991ISBN: 0671685465New York : Simon & Schuster, c1991.
Zhu fu ji qi ta 祝福及其他 The new-year sacrifice and other stories by Call Number: PL2754.S5 A294 2002ISBN: 9629960435Xianggang : Zhong wen da xue chu ban she, 2002
Wo hu cang long 卧虎藏龙 Crouching tiger, hidden dragon by Call Number: PL2919.T76 W6 1988ISBN: 7805280940Changchun Shi : Jilin wen shi chu ban she, 1988
Modernity
Confronting modernity in the cinemas of Taiwan and Mainland China by ISBN: 0521806771Publication Date: Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002.PN1993.5.T28 L828 2002
Memories of Peking : south side stories by Call Number: PL2878.N13 C413 2002ISBN: 9629960125Hong Kong : Chinese University Press, 2002.
Postsocialist modernity : Chinese cinema, literature, and criticism in the market age by Call Number: HM621 .M372 2008ISBN: 9780804758741Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2008.
The Cambridge companion to modern Chinese culture by Call Number: DS775.2 .C452424 2008ISBN: 9780521863223Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
The urban generation : Chinese cinema and society at the turn of the twenty-first century by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 U73 2007 (Watson)ISBN: 9780822340539Durham : Duke University Press, 2007.
Drama & Movie
Crouching tiger, hidden dragon : a portrait of the Ang Lee film, including the complete screenplayCall Number: PN1997.C8763 C76 2000ISBN: 1557044597New York : Newmarket Press, 2000.
Farewell, my concubine= ba wang bie ji by Call Number: PN1997.2.F364 L48 2010ISBN: 9781551523620Includes index.
Includes bibliographical references: p. 123-126.
Issued also in electronic format.
Fruit Chan’s Durian durian by Call Number: PN1997.L5952 G36 2005ISBN: 962209743XHong Kong : Hong Kong University Press, c2005
Primitive passions : visuality, sexuality, ethnography, and contemporary Chinese cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C465 1995ISBN: 0231076827New York : Columbia University Press, c1995.
The new Chinese documentary film movement : for the public record by Call Number: PN1995.9.D6 N38 2010ISBN: 9888028510Hong Kong : Hong Kong University Press, c2010.
Transnational Chinese cinemas : identity, nationhood, gender by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 T65 1997ISBN: 0824818458Honolulu, HI : University of Hawaii Press, 1997.- The white-haired girl : an opera in five acts byCall Number: 895.12 H65w2 1954"Songs from ’The white-haired girl’" (romanized Chinese words; English words printed as text) : [8] p. at end.
Assigned Readings
The Red Brush by Call Number: PL2278 .I344 2004ISBN: 067401393XPublication Date: 2004-10-25
The New-Year Sacrifice and Other Stories by Call Number: PL2754.S5 A294 2002ISBN: 9629960435Publication Date: 2003-01-21
Woman and Chinese modernity : the politics of reading between West and East by Call Number: DS775.2 .C47 1990ISBN: 0816618704Minneapolis, MN : University of Minnesota Press, c1991
The Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Literature by Call Number: PL2658.E1 C64 2007 (Watson 3 West)ISBN: 0231138407Publication Date: 2007-02-13
Chinese films in focus : 25 new takes by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C4594 2003ISBN: 0851709850London : British Film Institute, 2003
Chinese films in focus II by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C4594 2008 (Watson)ISBN: 1844572366 (hbk.)Basingstoke [England] ; New York : BFI/Palgrave Macmillan, 2008.
Marriage and Inequality in Chinese Society by Call Number: HQ734 .M3873 1991ISBN: 0520069307Publication Date: 1991-04-02
Perspectives on Chinese cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 P47 1991ISBN: 0851702716Publication Date: London : BFI Pub., 1991
Lightness of being in China : adaptation and discursive figuration in cinema and theater by Call Number: PN1995.9.C36 K86 1999ISBN: 0820445436Publication Date: 1999New York : Peter Lang, c1999
Women and Gender in Contemporary Chinese Societies by Call Number: HQ1767 .W644 2011ISBN: 9780739145807Publication Date: 2011-12-22
Family revolution : marital strife in contemporary Chinese literature and visual culture by Call Number: PL2275.F34 X53 2014ISBN: 9780295993492Publication Date: Seattle : University of Washington Press, [2014]
Shanghai Baby by Call Number: PL2929.7.O58 S464 2001ISBN: 0743421566Publication Date: 2001-08-28
References
- Chinese cinema : culture and politics since 1949 byCall Number: PN1993.5.C4 C58 1987ISBN: 0521326389Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1987
Chinese film stars by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C4425 2010ISBN: 0415573904New York, NY : Routledge, 2010.
Chinese-language film : historiography, poetics, politics by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C463 2005 WatsonISBN: 0824828135Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press, c2005.
Filmography (p. [363]-369).
Cultural studies and the study of popular culture by Call Number: HM623 .S76 2003 WatsonAthens : University of Georgia Press, c2003. 2nd edition.
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998 Watson Library-Reference (In Library Use Only)ISBN: 0415151686London ; New York : Routledge, 1998.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture by Call Number: DS779.23 .E53 2005 (Watson Reference)ISBN: 0415241294London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.
Gender and Chinese development : towards an equitable society by Call Number: HQ1240.5.C6 C48 2008ISBN: 0415467225London ; New York : Routledge, 2008.
Handbook of Chinese popular culture by Call Number: HM101 .H255 1994 WatsonWestport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.
Mediating the family : gender, culture and representation by Call Number: HQ518 .T52 2005ISBN: 0340740809London : Hodder Arnold ; New York : Distributed in the U.S. by Oxford University Press, 2005
Melodrama and Asian cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.A75 M45 1993ISBN: 0521414652Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1993.
Modernization and revolution in China : from the Opium Wars to the Olympics by Call Number: DS755 .G7 2009ISBN: 0765623900Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2009.
Persimmon : Asian literature, arts and cultureCall Number: PJ2 .P47Publication Date: New York : Contemporary Asian Culture, Inc., 2000-2002Rothman, William. "New Life for an Old Genre: Ang Lee's Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon." Persimmon 2,3 (Winter 2002): 80-83
Sources of Chinese tradition by Call Number: DS721 .D37 1999 v.1-2New York : Columbia University Press, 1999-
v.2: from 1600 through the 20th century
Women in Republican China : a sourcebook by Call Number: HQ1737 .W67 1999ISBN: 0765603438Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c1999.
Women through the lens : gender and nation in a century of Chinese cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C85 2003 WatsonISBN: 0824825322Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press, c2003
Xianggang fu nü dang an 香港婦女檔案 by Call Number: HQ1782 .H53 1993Xianggang : Xin fu nü xie jin hui, 1993.
Gender Issue
An introduction to Chinese culture through the family by Call Number: DS721 .I66 2001ISBN: 0791450473Albany : State University of New York Press, c2001
As normal as possible : negotiating sexuality and gender in mainland China and Hong Kong by Call Number: HQ73.3.C6 A8 2010ISBN: 9789622099869Hong Kong : Hong Kong University Press, c2010.
Gender and sexuality in modern Chinese history by Call Number: HQ1075.5.C6 M36 2011ISBN: 052186514XNew York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Gender and sexuality in twentieth-century Chinese literature and society by Call Number: PL2303 .G46 1993ISBN: 0791413713Albany : State University of New York Press, c1993.
Sex and sexuality in China by Call Number: HQ18.C6 S43 2006ISBN: 0415401437London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Women and sexuality in China : female sexuality and gender since 1949 by Call Number: HQ29 .E93 1997ISBN: 0826409229New York : Continuum, c1997- Zhongguo ren de xing ai yu hun yin 中国人的性爱与婚姻 Love, sexuality and marriage of the Chinese people byCall Number: HQ18.C5 L49 2002ISBN: 7505717855Beijing : Zhongguo you yi chu ban gong si, 2002.
Find Books
KU Library Catalog:
E-books
Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Maoist model theatre [electronic resource] : the semiotics of gender and sexuality in the Chinese Cultural Revolution (1966-1976) by Leiden [Netherlands] ; Boston : Brill, 2010.
Testimony of a Confucian woman [electronic resource] : the autobiography of Mrs. Nie Zeng Jifen, 1852-1942 by Athens, Ga. : University of Georgia Press, c1993.
The good women of China [electronic resource] : hidden voices by New York : Anchor Books, 2003, c2002.
The distorting mirror: visual modernity in China by ISBN: 0824830938Publication Date: Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press, c2007.
Catalogs & Search Tips
CATALOGS
SEARCH TIPS
Identify Keywords: Before searching the Library Catalog or other databases, take a few minutes to write down all the words that describe your topic. Use these words in keyword searches. For more help with search strategies, follow the links immediately below.
- Effective Search Techinques (KU)
- Five-Step Search Strategy (UC Berkeley)
- Search Strategy Worksheet (Humboldt St. U)
Follow the Bibliographic Trail: An effective method for gathering reliable information is to follow the citations or references from one source to another. Just as internet links take you to other pages or sources recommended by a site's webmaster, the author of a book or article provides a series of notes or references in a bibliography. These references typically lead to other useful sources on the topic.
Can't Find Books on Your Topic? Some content on a topic can be hidden in small chunks within general works. For example, there may be a few pages or paragraphs on the rusalki in W. F. Ryan's book Bathhouse At Midnight: An Historical Survey of Magic and Divination in Russia.
Still Can't Find Books Your Topic? Use Worldcat to search the library cataolgs of other universities; then request to borrow the books through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Search the Catalog
Author Browse = Lu, Xun (Lu, Xun, 1881-1936)
Author Browse = Rey Chow
Shen, Congwen see Shen, Congwen, 1902-1988
Authors
Mo, Yan, 1955-
Yu, Hua, 1960- Hua zhe.
Ge, You, 1957-
Gong, Li, 1965-
Directors
Zhang, Yimou.
Jia, Zhangke
Hou, Xiaoxian
Comedy films --China.
Feature films --China --Hong Kong.
Homosexuality in motion pictures
Motion pictures, Chinese.
Motion pictures, Chinese --China.
Motion picture producers and directors --Drama.
Social problems in motion pictures
Women in motion pictures
Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services
Request Materials (articles and books)
- Interlibrary Loan BorrowingDo you want to avoid having to key in bibliographic information on interlibrary loan or document delivery request forms? Find the citation you want in a KU Libraries database, click on the
button, and then click on “Request a loan or copy of this item”. You will need to authenticate but then the information will pre-populate into the request form. - Frequently Asked QuestionsAbout recall