Journal Articles and Databases
The journal articles listed in these databases will be available with your KU ID log-ins. Please click each link to check the details. 
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowThe major part of Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is from the print version, which covers records from 1971 to 1991 of all subjects on the humanities and the social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been included in the database. Some journals indexed may have early published date from 1791.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowThe FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals indexes 300 academic and popular film journals, from 1972 to the present.
- Film & television literature index with full text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index is an index to film and television literature that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
- Films on demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos from Films Media Group 24/7. Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.
Find Articles
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextThis is an index to film and television literature that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- Film indexes onlineFilm Indexes Online provides access to the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog), and the British Film Institute (Film Index International). The AFI Catalog indexes films released from 1893-1958 and 1961-1970. The Film Index International indexes films released from 1900 to the present. Records include information detailing the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information.
- International bibliography of theatre & dance with full textThe International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theatre students, educators and professionals. Initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, IBT becomes a valuable component to EBSCO's list of subject-specific secondary databases covering the humanities.
- Pop culture universe This link opens in a new windowPop Culture Universe (PCU) is an authoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present--in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers.
- Literature Resource CenterBiographies, bibliographies and analysis of authors of literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers with in-depth coverage of most-studied authors.
Articles (Chinese language)
- All-China Women's Federation 中华全国妇女联合会Plenty of articles about Chinese women's status in modern China
- National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in TaiwanIncludes articles from Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Singapore. Free searches, will charge for full-text.
- Gender Study Network 性别研究文库“The Gender Study Network (hereinafter GSN) is an online platform for domestic and international academic exchanges on gender studies. It aims to provide a medium for universities, institutions, media agencies, and individuals with an interest in women's studies to present, exchange and disseminate research results. ”
- Hanxue Zhongxin Diancang Dalu Qikan Pianmu Suoyin Ziliaoku
漢學中心典藏大陸期刊篇目索引資料庫Includes many core periodicals that are not in the China Academic Journals database. - Ling Long women's magazine 玲瓏"Published in Shanghai from 1931 to 1937 during a time of dramatic material, social, and political change in China. Today, the magazine offers researchers a unique glimpse into women's lives in Republican-era (1911-49) Shanghai. This site features Columbia University's collection of Ling long magazine, one of the most complete holdings outside China."--Columbia University Libraries
- National index To Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引 (上海图书馆)Full-text not available.
- Index of Newspaper & Journal Articles Reprint Series by the People's university (1978-1997 CD-Rom in East Asian Library) 人大复印报刊资料索引(See Librarian for access)
- Chinamaxx digital libraries This link opens in a new windowFull-text Chinese e-books and reprint journals covering a variety of subject areas published since 1900 with the majority after 1949. The database has an access to "Duxiu," a meta search engine with limited access to full-text of Chinese e-books, periodicals, dissertation/thesis, and patents. Please note that Duxiu searches may bring up contents outside KU's full-text coverage which you will not be able to download. Please use Interlibrary Loan service to request these materials. Technical Requirements: This database is compatible with PCs and IE browser only. Page image and its full text (with provided OCR tool to convert image to text) can be printed one page at a time. Simple and Advanced Search methods are provided, all searches use Simplified Chinese characters. Users Guide can be found online with English and Chinese user interfaces. KU collection has over 1100 volumes in 2009 new selections will be added twice a year.
Subjects
Art History
Asian History
East Asian Languages and Literature
East Asian Studies
Publisher Beijing Superstar Information Technology Co. Ltd.
Type
Electronic books
Electronic journals
- Taiwan Electronic Periodicals Service TEPS-台灣電子期刊服務網 (index)Index of articles from Taiwan and China journals. Search in Chinese (Big 5) or English.
- Hong Kong Literature DatabaseBy Chinese University of Hong Kong. Covers H.K. newspaper articles, journal articles, CUHK library book collection and theses.
E-Journals and e-Articles
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Making Women Warriors--A Transnational Reading of Asian Women Action Heroes Jump Cut 48 (Winter 2006)
Historical Introduction: Qiu Jin Chinese Studies in History, vol. 34, no. 2 (Winter 2000-2001): 5-9.
Li Yuchun: Loved for Being Herself Time Asia. (October 2005)
- Gender Politics and Neoliberalism in China: Ann Hui's The Postmodern Life of My AuntMarchetti, Gina(2009). “Gender Politics and Neoliberalism in China: Ann Hui's The Postmodern Life of My Aunt”, Visual Anthropology, 22: 2, 123 - 140.
- Reimagining Political Community: Diaspora, Nation-State, and the Struggle for RecognitionBan Wang (2005). “Reimagining Political Community: Diaspora, Nation-State, and the Struggle for Recognition” Modern Drama, 48:2, 249-271.
- China Media ResearchFrom Vol. 1, no. 1 (2005) to present
- Modern drama [electronic resource]Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Visual anthropology [electronic resource]ISBN: 1545-5920 0894-9468Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet
Citation Linker
Type data in the citation Linker. The system will attempt to locate an e-copy if KU Libraries have it.
Database Search Tips
Brainstorming keywords and search terms.
Use subject headings or descriptors to generate good search terms.
When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited. That will often lead you to other useful sources.