EndNote Overview
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management application that academic writers can use to streamline and simplify the research and writing process. You can export citation information to EndNote from online searches, attach PDF files to the citations in your library, then save time by creating an automatic bibliography in Word from your EndNote library.
Features
- Free to KU students, faculty and staff
- Web + desktop access (sync or solo)
With EndNote, you can
- Collect references from various databases, websites, and catalogs
- Organize references in groups and group sets for managing large projects
- Import and attach article PDFs, folders, images, video and audio files
- Read, annotate, highlight and make notes using the built-in document reader
- Write your papers using 'Cite While You Write' feature to:
- instantly insert in-text citations and bibliographies in numerous citation styles
- create footnotes
- Team access - share and collaborate references with colleagues
Upcoming EndNote Workshops
Would you like to attend a free EndNote Workshop? Check the workshop calendar: https://workshops.ku.edu/
Introduction to EndNote 20
Step-by-Step EndNote 20 How-To Guide for PC and Mac
Tricks, Time-Savers and Advanced How-To
Managing EndNote's Output
- Editing your Output StyleIf your output style (such as APA, MLA, Chicago 16th, etc.) isn’t appearing as you’d like in your in-text citations, footnotes, figures or bibliography, you can modify it. EndNote has user-friendly screens that will help you make the changes you need.
- Getting and Installing New Output Styles - MacEndNote has over 5,000 styles, many of them journal-specific.
- Getting and Installing New Output Styles - PCEndNote has over 5,000 styles, many of them journal-specific.
- Modifying a Reference TypeThis how-to guide will show you how to add a field to a reference type then adjust your bibliography template to include the new field.
- Working with Journal Abbreviationsa.k.a. Term Lists. Some citation styles require the use of standardized journal abbreviations rather than full titles. Lists of these abbreviations are automatically included with your EndNote installation, though you may need to edit or add to them.
Sharing EndNote Libraries
- Using EndNote Sync for Backup or to Access Library from a Second Location (Mac)EndNote Web, through its “Sync” function, provides a free internet location to back up your desktop library and can even be used as a quick way to send citations to a third library. “Sync” means that it matches up the contents of both libraries, so that items added to or deleted from one library will be added to or deleted from the other as well.
- Using EndNote Sync for Backup or to Access Library from a Second Location (PC)EndNote Web, through its “Sync” function, provides a free internet location to back up your desktop library and can even be used as a quick way to send citations to a third library. “Sync” means that it matches up the contents of both libraries, so that items added to or deleted from one library will be added to or deleted from the other as well.
Other Helpful Guides
- Adding PDF Files to EndNoteHolding off on switching to EndNote because you've got a full stash of PDF files scattered all over your hard drive? Here's how to import them and send EndNote on a quest to hook them up with matching citation information.
- Automatic Naming of PDF Files (PC)Many researchers are often frustrated by having to think up short names for PDF files--especially when they end up with several files by the same author. EndNote can automatically name them for you.
- Automatic Naming of PDF Files (Mac)Many researchers are often frustrated by having to think up short names for PDF files--especially when they end up with several files by the same author. EndNote can automatically name them for you.
- Combining LibrariesHow to copy and paste resources from one EndNote library to another or to merge two libraries into one.
- Copy and Re-Use RecordsWhether it's an edited book with chapters by different authors or a series of similar references you're adding to your library manually, using a previous EndNote record as a template can be a real time-saver.
- Create Bibliography for each ChapterA step-by-step guide for creating a bibliography at the end of each chapter using EndNote, rather than a longer bibliography at the end of the document.
- Get and Install FiltersA few of the databases to which KU subscribes require the installation of an additional filter before references can be exported to EndNote. Installation is relatively simple. This document contains links to download the filters as well.
- HawkDrive and DropBoxCompress your EndNote library before you re-locate it! This guide will show you how and also illustrates using DropBox or KU's HawkDrive for backup.
- Importing from Text using EndNote TagsInstructions for adding simple EndNote tags to reference fields, such as author, title, year, etc., to format a text document to be recognized by EndNote.
- Installing a Second Copy of EndNoteYou may download EndNote as many times as you would like as long as you have a valid KU login however, if you’ve already downloaded it once, you may get an error message if you try to download it a second time (for another computer, for example). You can still install EndNote again, you will just install it a little differently.
- Text Bibliography to EndNoteA step-by-step PowerPoint explaining how to prepare a text bibliography for import to the EndNote library. This can be a time-consuming process, but for large libraries, may be quicker than re-downloading or manual entry.
- Turn off Instant FormattingA great time-saver! This function replaces in-text citations (and all the accompanying -and slow- document scanning) with short EndNote tags, puts your bibliography on hold, allows you to add page numbers without jumping through menus, and formats later.
- Working with Duplicates in EndNoteHow to find, check and remove duplicate citations from your EndNote library.
Using EndNote with Other Programs
- Highlight and Extract PDF Text (then add it to your EndNote library!)SUMNOTES is an online utility that extracts highlighted text and sticky-note annotations from a PDF file. EndNote users may find it handy to save these annotations and extractions as part of an EndNote library. Here's how to do it in Mac Preview, Adobe Acrobat or from EndNote itself.
- Exporting Word Citations to EndNoteIf you were previously creating bibliographies by clicking “References” then “Manage Sources” in Word, it is easy to export those citations to EndNote.
- EndNote to Zotero TransferA step-by-step guide for exporting EndNote references to Zotero.
- Using EndNote with NVIVOA video by QSR International
- EndNote Libraries in BlackboardUpload an EndNote library to your Blackboard site for students to use.
- Using EndNote with Google DocsWhile you can't format citations in Google Docs using EndNote, you can add them and let EndNote update them later in Word. This Adept Science article will tell you how.
- Excel to EndNoteFor experienced EndNote users, this how-to guide explains how to convert citations collected in Excel files and import to EndNote.
- Using EndNote with LaTEX or BibTexA LibGuide from MIT.
Downloadable EndNote Guides for Older Versions
Step-by-Step EndNote X9 How-To Guides
Step-by-Step EndNote X8 How-To Guides
Step-by-Step EndNote X7 How-To Guides
Subject Specialist
Now Available by Skpye
EndNote Training Videos
- Official EndNote Training VideosLink here to Thomson Reuters official online EndNote training videos on YouTube.
EndNote Troubleshooting
EndNote Troubleshooting
EndNote Links
Links
KU Workshop Calendar Free, in-person EndNote workshops and more!
Importing KU Library references to EndNote Some of the different databases (JSTOR, EBSCO-Host, Pro-Quest, etc) have different formats for sending citation information to EndNote. Here's a collection of KU databases that work with EndNote and step-by-step export instructions for each one.
EndNote product training from Thomson Reuters Tutorials and training from the EndNote website.
Additional Output Styles for EndNote Over 5,000 styles are available for EndNote. If your EndNote download did not come with the style you need, check for it here.
Working with Output Styles A great, in-depth explanation of output styles from the University of Toledo. For more on output styles, visit the KU Writing Center's Guide on
Citing/Documenting your Sources A citation guide by the KU Writing Center
Additional Filters for EndNote While EndNote installs with a set of filters (downloading formats) in place, there are several more that you can add manually. From this site, you can download all of them at once or choose specific filters or groups.
EndNote Filters and Instructions This page from the Columbia University Libraries includes both the database and the information provider -- a fantastic and time-saving reference tool if you're trying to download just one specific filter and struggling to figure out which provider goes with database.
Create an EndNote Web account Access and up to 5 GB of file storage on EndNote Web is included with your KU EndNote download. After registering for your free account, you can synchronize your desktop EndNote library with your EndNote Web library and then use e-mail addresses to create collections of references that can be shared with colleagues.
EndNote Web Quick Reference Card A targeted how-to for EndNote Web.
Thomson and Reuters tech support: 800-336-4474 (at the prompts dial 4, 1, 1).