Primary Source
Primary source analysis:
Your primary source analysis should analyze two primary sources that are related to the topic of your research paper. This “paper” does not have to have an argument or an introduction or conclusion, and you may treat each source separately if that makes the most sense. It will be evaluated for how well you have done the following things:
- describe each document, who wrote it, when, how, why, and for what audience;
- critically analyze the contents of each document - does it have any biases? what interesting things have you found in the source that relate to your paper topic?;
- provide full bibliographic information for your documents. You may use anything you write for this assignment in your final research paper, so you should really treat this primary source analysis as a preliminary building block for the final paper.
Personal Names
Biographic Dictionary of Chinese Communism by Call Number: DS778.A1 K55 1971 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 0674074106
"Mao Zedong" OR "Mao Tse-Tung"
"Jiang Qing" OR "Chiang Ching"
"Zhou Enlai" OR "Chou En-lai"
"Deng Xiaoping" OR "Teng Hsiao-ping"
Jiang Zemin
Hu Jintao
Chiang, Kai-shek
Kuomintang OR Guomindang
Examples of Primary Sources
The private life of Chairman Mao : the memoirs of Mao’s personal physician by Call Number: DS778.M3 L5164 1994Publication Date: New York : Random House, c1994.- Works of Mao Zedong by Date (Marxists Internet Archive)Includes Mao's letters, talks, interviews, speeches, etc.
Blood Letters: the untold story of Lin Zhao, a martyr in Mao’s China by Call Number: DS778.L47655 L53 2018ISBN: 9781541644236Publication Date: New York : Basic Books, 2018." Blood Letters is one of the most important books on the Communist-era rights movements to be published in recent years."
- Quotations from Mao Tse Tung (from Mao Tse Tung Internet Archive)Quotations from 1927-1964. First published in 1966 by the Peking Foreign Languages Press. Transcription/Markup by David Quentin and Brian Baggins, online since 2000.
- Tiananmen Square, 1989. The Declassified History. (George Washington University)National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 16. Includes Selected Documents from the Microfiche Collection China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960-1998. Prepared by Jeffrey T. Richelson and Michael L. Evans. June 1, 1999.
Events & Slogans
Hundred Flowers Movement/Campaign
The Anti-Rightist Campaign
The Great Famine
Great leap forward (Da yue jin)
"Learn from Da zhai"
The Cultural Revolution or the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution
sent-down (xia fang)
“Gang of four”
"Revolution is not a crime, to rebel is justified"
Revolutionary model operas/performing arts
Operas::
- The Red Lantern (Hongdeng ji)
- Sha Jia Village (Sha Jia bang)
- Taking Tiger Mountain by Strategies (Zhi qu wei hu shan)
Ballets:
- White-haired Girl (Bai mao nü)
- Red Detachment of Women (Hong se niang zi jun)
Tiananmen Square Incident (China : 1989)
"Serve the People"
Smash the four olds, establish the four news
"Three Red Flags" (General Line, the Great Leap Forward, and the People’s Communes.)
Searching the Online Catalog for Primary Sources
Examples of keywords that retrieve primary sources: sources, personal narratives, diaries, papers, letters, interviews, documents, images. Another way to find primary sources is to do an author search of the individual or organization whose writings you hope to find. This same approach can be used in WorldCat and HathiTrust.
Here is an example of how to search the KU Catalog using Advanced Search. If you do not know Chinese be sure to set the language limits.
English Language Primary Sources
- Associated Press This link opens in a new windowAccess over 180 years of the photographs, sound bites, and graphics from the archives of the Associated Press.
- Chicago Defender (1905-2010) This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most influential African American newspaper by World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership outside of Chicago. This database covers 1905-1975
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new windowFBIS monitored, recorded, transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. The dates of coverage are 1941-1974 and annexes from 1974-1996.
- Propaganda and the Chinese Press Global PerspectivesArticles from the official news agency of the People’s Republic of China, translated into English.
- New York Times with index This link opens in a new windowAccess to full page and article images with searchable full-text from 1851 to 4 years ago.
- Reader's guide retrospective This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the 20th century.
- Times digital archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowFull-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006.
- Washington post This link opens in a new windowIncludes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1877 up to 16 years ago.
- U.S. Congressional serial set (Readex) This link opens in a new windowThe Serial Set includes Senate and House Documents and Senate and House Reports.
- Peking ReviewEnglish language edition of Chinese weekly magazine. KU has 1979-1993.
- Beijing ReviewEnglish Language Chinese paper from 2006 to the present.
Subject Headings
China--Economic policy--1976-2000--Sources
China--Foreign relations--United States--Sources
China --History --1949-1976 --Sources.
China--History--1949---Sources.
China History 1976-2002 Sources
China--History--Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976--Biography.
China--History--Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976--Personal narratives.
China--History--Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976--Sources
China--History--Tiananmen Square Incident, 1989--Personal narratives.
China --Politics and government --1949--Sources.
China--Politics and government--1949-1976--Sources.
China --Rural conditions --Case studies.
China--Rural conditions--Congresses.
China --Social conditions --1949-1976 --Case studies.
China--Social conditions--1976-2000--Maps
Dissenters --China --Sources.
Communism--China --History --Sources.
Famines --China --History --20th century --Sources
Hong wei bing --Interviews.
Heads of state --China --Biography.
Mao, Zedong, 1893-1976 --Translations into English
Trials (Political crimes and offenses) --China --Beijing.
United States--Foreign relations--China--Public opinion.
United States--Foreign relations--China--Sources.
United States--Foreign relations--China--Tibet Autonomous Region
Titles (Examples)
After the 16th party congress [electronic resource] : the civil and the military
Analysis of the classes in Chinese society.
Chairman Mao talks to the people; talks and letters: 1956-1971
China’s economic reform : a study with documents
Chinese communism, selected documents
Collected works of Mao Tse-tung (1917-1949)
The Communist hypothesis (Alain Badiou ; translated by David Macey and Steve Corcoran)
Damage control : the Chinese Communist Party in the Jiang Zemin era
Four essays on philosophy / Mao Tse-tung.
Gang of one : memoirs of a Red Guard
The great famine in China, 1958-1962 : a documentary history
On "imperialism and all reactionaries are paper tiger."
People’s Republic of China, 1949-1979 : a documentary survey (CIA documentary)
v. 1. 1949-1957, From liberation to crisis.
v. 2. 1957-1965, The Great Leap Forward and its aftermath.
v. 3. 1965-1967, The Cultural Revolution, part I.
v. 4. 1967-1968, The Cultural Revolution, part II.
v. 5. 1968-1979, After the Cultural Revolution.
People’s Republic of China, 1979-1984 : a documentary survey
The People’s Republic of China : a documentary history of revolutionary change
Policy conflicts in post-Mao China : a documentary survey with analysis
Quotations from Chairman Mao Tse-tung [electronic resource].
Religious policy and practice in Communist China; a documentary history
Samples of Red Guard publications
The struggle for new China / Soong Ching Ling.
Wild lily, prairie fire : China’s road to democracy, Yan’an to Tian’anmen, 1942-1989