HIST 397: From Mao to Now: China's Red Revolution: Web Resources

Designed, developed and maintained by King's Digital Lab, King's College (London)

from the encyclopedia of art and architecture "Oxford art online"

from KU History of Art Department Visual Resources Collection

find more posters by searching "poster China" in ARTstor

from Ivy Plus Libraries' Digital Projects on East Asia of the Duke University Library

China's Cultural Revolution was a key reference point for huge numbers of activists in 1968, but by then the CR was all but over.

闯 Chuǎng: The image of a horse breaking through a gate. Meaning: To break free; To attack, charge; To break through, force one’s way in or out; To act impetuously. 闯关 (chuǎngguān): to run a blockade. 闯座 (chuǎngzuò): to attend a feast without being invited.

Over the past three decades, China has transformed from an isolated state-planned economy into an integrated hub of capitalist production. Waves of new investment are reshaping and deepening China’s contradictions, creating billionaires like Ma Yun while the millions below — those who farm, cook, clean, and assemble his electronic infrastructure — struggle to escape fates of endless grueling work. But as China’s wealthy feast ever more lavishly, the poor have begun to batter down the gates to the banquet hall. 闯 is the sudden movement when the gate is broken and the possibilities for a new world emerge beyond it.

闯 Chuǎng will publish a journal analyzing the ongoing development of capitalism in China, its historical roots, and the revolts of those crushed beneath it. Chuǎng is also a blog chronicling these developments in shorter and more immediate form, and will publish translations, reports, and comments on Chinese news of interest to those who want to break beyond the bounds of the slaughterhouse called capitalism.

The lessons of labour unrest, the Cultural Revolution as taboo, and post-party politics.

Marxist Feminist film scholar Dai Jinhua, one of the preeminent cultural critics of China's New Left, historicizes the rapid cultural and intellectual developments that took place in China during the 1980s and 90s.

Sponsored by the Weatherhead East Asian Institute, Columbia University.

CR/10 (Cultural Revolution: 10) is an experimental oral history project. It aims to neutrally collect ordinary people’s authentic memories and impressions of China's Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution, which lasted 10 years, from 1966 to 1976.

The ANU digital collection of speeches and images from print and microfilm on the Chinese Cultural Revolution period (1966 to 1976).

..." In 2010 he [Wu Wenguang] launched the Memory Project to collect oral histories from survivors of the Great Famine that devastated rural China between 1958 and 1961. Officially known in China as the “Three Years of Natural Disasters” or “The Difficult Three-Year Period,” the Great Famine caused the death of between 20 and 43 million people. More recently the project has also covered the Great Leap Forward of 1958-1960, the Land Reform and the Collectivization of 1949-1953, the Four Cleanups Movement in 1964, and the Cultural Revolution of 1966-1976." More than 650 interviews were collected by Oct. 2021.

Included is theGallery of Chinese Propaganda Posters (1925-2006): 200 Highlights from the collections of the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, and Stefan R. Landsberger (University of Amsterdam, Leiden University).

1971-1972 life in China documented by Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars (CCAS) two visits.

"An encyclopedic dictionary of philosophy, politics and political economy, all from the point of view of Revolutionary Marxism"

This site is part of the "authorized government portal site to China, www.china.org.cn" (中国网). It offers a survey to CCP history up to 1991.

Mao's biography.

In Chinese，Complete works of Mao also in English. Site includes complete works of Mao in all forms, portraits from youth to post 1960s, art works and multimedia publications .

See index of available articles. Whole issues and individual articles, mostly from the Maoist revolutionary era on revolutionary politics, economics and philosophy.

About this site Making sense of the recent Chinese propaganda campaigns (Politics East Asia) Sep. 17, 2013

Quotations from 1927-1964. First published in 1966 by the Peking Foreign Languages Press. Transcription/Markup by David Quentin and Brian Baggins, online since 2000.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 16. Includes Selected Documents from the Microfiche Collection China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960-1998. Prepared by Jeffrey T. Richelson and Michael L. Evans. June 1, 1999.

Chinese version is at http://www.cnd.org/CR/halls.html. Research & Studies, Key Historical Figures, Major Events, First Hand Oberservations and Interviews

includes Mao's talks, letters, speeches, interviews, etc. from 1920s-1070s.

"Occupy Central -- also known as the Occupy movement and the "umbrella movement" -- was a large-scale show of civil disobedience that began in Hong Kong on September 28, 2014."

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 18

This page is part of the U.S. Department of State website. It contains declassified archival material on the diplomatic relations between the USA and China, Tibet, and Mongolia, between 1964 and 1968.

Declassified. National Security Archive, The George Washington University, Washington DC, USA.

"...declassified documents pertaining to the formulation and implementation of the United States' policies toward the People's Republic of China and Taiwan over the last four decades..."

China’s sophisticated filtering system, known as the Great Firewall (GFW), is the region’s biggest impediment to the freedom of information. The GFW is built by the Chinese government and is continuously developed to serve their political interests. In this report, we introduce the design of GFWatch, a large-scale longitudinal measurement platform that informs the public about how GFW censorship changes over time and its negative impact on the free flow of information.