Find Books
Where to Find Books?
Search the KU Library Catalog first. If you need help, talk to your Slavic Librarian.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIf you do not find what you are looking for in the KU Library Catalog, search WorldCat. A union catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Over 180 million records for books, websites, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscript maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and video recordings. Records in 400 languages. Restricted to 25 simultaneous users.
- KU Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center (EGARC) CatalogFor multi-media materials (VHS, DVD, and cassettes) and equipment. In addition to housing a collection of approximately 12,000 audio and video items in over 60 languages, the Center contains three computer labs, a media-enhanced conference room, a soundproofed recording studio, and a viewing area for small groups.
Slavic & Eurasian Studies
Jon Giullian
Contact:
International Collections
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-8854
Top Databases for Russian Literature
Where to Start Searching for Articles?
Search the databases in this box. They are a combination of full-text and citation databases that will lead you to a wealth of commentary (secondary sources) on Russian literature. (FYI: ABSEES, Historical Abstracts, and Academic Search Premier can be searched simultaneously.)
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)Covers books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Content in both English and foreign languages. Coverage includes literature from all over the world -Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLacks current content. Search other databases, including multi-subject databases below, for the most recent articles. Includes the full text of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers most journals from inception through 2006. Does not provide access to current issues.
- ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)Covers English-language scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government documents.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic (citation only) database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database "America: History and Life." Indexes the journal and book literature.
- Project MuseA searchable full-text database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
Multi-Subject Databases
Not finding what you need? Try searching these databases.
These multi-subject databases include content on Russian literature. Since these databases include content from semi-analytical (The Economist, Harper's, Time, etc.) and popular magazines (People, Reader's Digest, etc.), as well as scholarly journals, be selective in the sources that you cite in your term paper. FYI: ABSEES, Historical Abstracts, and Academic Search Premier can all be searched simultaneously.
- Academic Search PremierContains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. Find scholarly journals, popular sources, and more.
- Expanded Academic ASAPProvides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
- ProQuest research library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. The database includes more than 3820 titles -- over 2550 in full text -- from 1971 forward.
- Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile provides access to peer-reviewed full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles in the journal "Russian Literature." A few other journals in the database include a smattering of content on Russian literature.