NDC Blog RSS Feed
"The National Declassification Center... was established in accordance with Executive Order 13526, by Archivist David S. Ferriero on December 30, 2009. Its mission is to align people, processes, and technologies to advance the declassification and public release of historically valuable permanent records while maintaining national security."
Loading ...
Agency Reading Rooms
- FOIA Reading Rooms - List maintained by the DOJ"Many documents are available to the public without having to make a FOIA request. These documents are called “proactive disclosures” because they are automatically posted online by all Department components. Please find links below to all Department of Justice components to access their documents that are available online."
Other FIOA Guides
- Access to Government Information In the United StatesCongressional Research Service.
- Declassified documents guideFrom the University of California, Santa Barbara
- Declassified government documentsFrom the University of California, Berkeley
Declassified Documents Collections
There are many resources that provide access to declassified documents. The following are some of the options.
- CIA Documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962Example of a thematic collection of declassified documents made available by a agency or other government office.
- Declassified documents reference systemThis resource includes "paper index" and "microfiche" facsimile system. Location: Anschutz Library Microfiche J83 .D43. Declassified documents catalog is the index to the microfiche: can be located at Anschutz Library reference Z1223 .Z9 D4.
- Digital Archive, International History Declassified (Wilson Center)"declassified official documents from nearly 100 different archives in dozens of different countries that provide fresh, unprecedented insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy."
- Foreign Relations of the United States
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
For 150 years has been compiled by the U.S. State Department. The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. - Kennedy Assasination documentsExample of a thematic collection of declassified documents made available by a agency or other government office.
- NARA Declassification CenterRequests to access the newly released records or to order copies should be directed to Archives 2 Reference at 301-837-3510 or archives2reference@nara.gov
- National Security ArchiveAn independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
- U.S. Department of State Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), Declassified/Released Document CollectionsExample of a thematic collection of declassified documents made available by a agency or other government office.
KU catalog resources
Some resources such as books and microform sets are available as depository items and purchased collections. Here are some examples. Use the KU online catalog to find other collections and books.
- Tracking the dragon : national intelligence estimates on China during the era of MaoLocated at Anschutz Library 1 North (documents) -- PREX 3.21:C 44
- Declassified documents catalogindex located in Anschutz Library reference--Z1223 .Z9 D4
microfiche locatd in Anschutz 1 North -- [MICROFICHE] J83 .D43
