Databases
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies This link opens in a new windowA systematic, and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually. Coverage includes the following fields: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs: business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.
- Cambridge History of IslamHistory of the Islamic world from pre-Islamic times to present. In four sections. 1A: The central Islamic lands from pre-Islamic times to the First World War -- 1B. The central Islamic lands since 1918 -- 2A. The Indian sub-continent, South-East Asia, Africa and the Muslim West -- 2B. Islamic Society and Civilization.
- Encyclopedia of IslamEncyclopedia of Islam Online (EI Online) consists of both the second edition (“EI2”) and the third edition (“EI3”). The latter is a work in progress, publication of which started in 2007. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopaedia Iranica is a multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. It focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. From the biographies of notable men and women in every field of endeavor to descriptions of all Iranian cities and monuments (ancient and modern), from Zoroastrian scriptures to Jewish shrines and Islamic rituals, from Persian classics to modern novels, from Iranian flora and fauna to Persian music and folklore, all aspect of life in Iranian and related cultural areas are studied and described in articles presenting the current state of research in their texts and appended bibliographies
- Ciao : Columbia international affairs online This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It accesses a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs
- Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 This link opens in a new windowChronicles the Arab-Israeli conflict from 1917-1970. This resource contains primary source documents that chronicle the politics, wars, administration and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
- Project MuseA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- eHRAFThe Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, seeks to encourage and facilitate comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- PAIS index This link opens in a new windowThe PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more about public policy and work affairs.
- Africa BibliographyThe Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. This the online consolidated version brings together every record collected since the bibliography's foundation, producing a rich and interactive resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.
- African Journals Online (AJOL)Includes online access to the content of over 430 journals published in 35 African countries. These journals cover the full range of academic disciplines, with strong sections on medicine and health, agriculture, pure and applied sciences, environmental studies, and over two dozen interdisciplinary journals pertaining to African studies generally. Includes journals published primarily in English and French. User authentication with user name and password are required to enter the site.
- Black Women WritersThis resource contains literature and essays related to feminism by black women writers from the United States, Caribbean, and over 20 African countries.
Guide Contact
Geoff Husic
Contact:
Slavic, Linguistics, and Near East Studies Librarian
Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850
husic@ku.edu
Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850
husic@ku.edu