Reference Resources Concerning Kansas Newspapers
In 1916 the Kansas Historical Society and Department of Archives published History of Kansas Newspapers: A History of the Newspapers and Magazines Published in Kansas from the Organization of Kansas Territory, 1854 to January 1, 1916. This book includes both a narrative history and a directory of papers published in the state.
Kansas Historical Society Resources
- Kansas Digital Newspaper ProgramDigital access to a select collection of Kansas papers from 1860-1922. These are also available through the Chronicling America program at the Library of Congress.
- Microfilm DatabaseThe KS Historical Society has a large collection of microfilmed newspapers. Use this page and the many different search options to identify papers. Check if KU owns the paper or consider ordering on ILL before driving to Topeka. Please note that there are limits on ILL requests.
- African American NewspapersA list of Kansas African American newspapers. Most of these are available in the KU database, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
- KSHS Digital Partner Websites**Requires Kansas diver's licence or state ID" Through this website it is possible to search Kansas papers in Newspapers.com and select records from Ancestry.com.
- Kansas Territorial NewspapersA list of papers published in Kansas territory between September 15, 1854, and January 29, 1861.
KU's Microfilm
This is a selective list of Kansas papers on microfilm available at KU. Check the KU Libraries Catalog for other titles.
- CallThe Call was published from 1919 and until 1923, when it adopted Kansas City Call as its official title.
- Kansas City CallIssues from August 1923 to October 1933.
- CallIssues since since 1933.
- Kansas City StarMicrofilm covers from September 1880 through the present.
- Kansas City TimesPapers since August of 1884 through October 1901.
- Kansas City TimesIssues from May 1908 through February 1990 when it merged with the Kansas City Star.
- Kansas City Star and the Kansas City TimesIssues from October 1901 through May 1908.
- Lawrence Journal-WorldMicrofilm covers from February 1911 to the present. Lawrence's earlier paper, the Lawrence Daily World, is on microfilm in Spencer.
- Topeka Daily CapitalMicrofilm covers from January 1, 1885 to September 1, 1980 when it merged to become Topeka Capital-Journal.
- Topeka Capital-JournalWatson's microfilm starts in September 1980 through the present.
- The University Daily Kansan: Official Paper of the University of KansasAnschutz has microfilm of the Kansan from January 17, 1912 - July 27, 2015. There is an additional set at Spencer Research Library.
Kansas City (MO) Public Library
The Kansas City Public Library has a 43-volume index of the city's major papers. It is available at the library.
- The StarThe library has a subscription to two digital versions of the Star which can be accessed at the library or at home with a KCPL card. One version of the paper covers from 1991 and the other from 2013.
- Newspapers on MicrofilmA list of newspapers available at the Kansas City (MO) Public Library.
Mid-Continent Public Library
Independent Missouri's Mid-Continent Public Library includes the Midwest Genealogy Center. This branch library focuses on family history and among their collections are a large holding of digitized historical newspapers. Of particular note, is the Kansas City Star from 1880 to the present. You must visit the library access these sources.
Electronic Access to Kansas Papers
These databases provide access to a vareity of newspapers published in Kansas. Use the various limiting options to search only Kansas papers.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch over thirty newspapers published in Kansas.
- America's historical newspapers. Kansas newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to two collections of newspapers: Kansas titles from African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 and another collection of thirteen of the state’s papers published from 1851 to 1909. Among those included in the later collection are: Emporia Gazette, Leavenworth Bulletin, Topeka Weekly Capital, and Sedan Lance.
- Chronicling AmericaThis project from the Library of Congress provides access to newspapers from across the United States prior to 1923. This link goes directly to the Kansas papers.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition – World CollectionThe World Collection contains over 4,000 newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s from the United States and other countries. There are a significant number of small Kansas papers included.
Digital Lawrence, Kansas Papers
This is an alphabetical list of digitized papers from Lawrence . As such they are form a number of providers--some are free to view and others are behind KU's firewall. Please keep in mind that they are accessed through a variety of interfaces with different functions. Be warned, there are most likely missing issues and/or pages. The dates are not 100% accurate as some of these projects add and drop pages, but they are pretty close.
- City MoonA paper published in Lawrence from 1973 to 1985.
- Daily Kansas TribuneJanuary 2, 1882-July 7, 1882
- Daily Kansas TribuneJuly 24, 1882-January 5, 1883
- Daily WorldMarch 3, 1892-August 6, 1895
- Jeffersonian GazetteSeptember 4, 1918-December 17, 1918
- Jeffersonian GazetteApril 3, 1899-August 21, 1918
- Kansas Daily TribuneJanuary 2, 1882-April 7, 1882
- Kansas Weekly GazetteSeptember 7, 1882-January 25, 1883
- Lawrence Daily GazetteOctober 15, 1884-September 1885 AND July 2, 1893-January 7, 1895
- Lawrence Daily GazetteOctober 15, 1884-November 3, 1885
- Lawrence Daily JournalMarch 14, 1884-November 10, 1885
- Lawrence Daily JournalJanuary 1, 1880-March 12, 1884
- Lawrence Daily JournalAugust 21, 1890-February 5, 1891
- Lawrence Daily JournalFebruary 6, 1891-February 17, 1911
- Lawrence Daily JournalNovember 11, 1885-August 20, 1890
- Lawrence Daily Journal-WorldOctober 11, 1989-November 11, 2004
- Lawrence Daily Journal-WorldJanuary 1, 2008-present
- Lawrence Daily Journal-WorldApril 25, 2000-November 30, 2008
- Lawrence Daily Journal-WorldFebruary 20, 1911-October 16, 1993
- Lawrence Daily WorldJune 18, 1895-August 31, 1895
- Lawrence Daily WorldSeptember 2, 1895-February 18, 1911
- Lawrence GazetteJanuary 24, 1883-May 8, 1884
- Lawrence GazetteMay 15, 1884-march 30, 1899
- Lawrence JournalSeptember 13, 1883-July 31, 1885
- Lawrence Journal-TribuneMarch 31, 1890-September 24, 1890
- Lawrence Journal-WorldOctober 17, 1993-May 30, 2009
- Lawrence Journal-WorldUse the calendar feature on the paper's official website to select a specific date for that day's paper. This feature includes issues from January 1, 1990 to present.
- Lawrence Weekly JournalJanuary 7, 1886-June 27, 1889
- Lawrence Weekly WorldMarch 11, 1892-March 25, 1909
- Republican Daily JournalMarch 4, 1869-June 18, 1879
- Western Home JournalMarch 11, 1869-February 26, 1885
Kansas State University Papers
- CollegianThis student newspaper dates from 1896 to the present. Former names of the Collegian are the Students Herald (1896-1913) and Kansas Aggie (1913-1914).
- Kansas IndustrialistThe first newspaper published at Kansas State University, in later years the Kansas Industrialist focused on content for alumni. This newspaper was published from 1875 to 1955.
- Minorities Resource and Research Center NewsletterNewsletter that “presented views on minority life, cultures, languages, and history.” Published by Kansas State University’s Farrell Library Minorities Resource and Research Center 1975-1986.
- UhuruNewsletter published by the Black Student Union, Kansas State University, from 1970 to 1975.
Subject Guide
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Kansas City Star
- Kansas City Star, 1880 to PresentAccess a complete run of the Kansas City Star.
Kansas City Call
- Kansas City CallKansas City’s Black newspaper, The Kansas City Call documents the lives of African Americans in aspects related to civil rights, urban development, sports, and many others. The searchable advertisements also provide insight into black business in the city.
Coverage for the years 1933 – 2008 currently available. Full access from 1919-2010 coming in Spring 2024.
University of Missouri-Kansas City
- The PitchDigitized copies of select issues of the alternative paper, which started as the Penny Pitch.
Kansas Papers in Google News Archive
- Junction City Daily UnionOctober 1, 1985-December 31, 1987
- Junction City Daily UnionJanuary 3, 19880-mach 31, 1988
- Junction City Daily UnionApril 1, 1988-June 30, 1988
- Junction City Sunday UnionOctober 6, 1985-June 26, 1988
- Western Kansas WorldFebruary 18, 1999-March 5, 2009
WICHITA NEWSPAPERS
- TIHEN'S NOTESDr. Edward N. Tihen created an index of Wichita's newspapers dating from 1872 to 1982. The titles included are the Wichita Eagle, Wichita Beacon, and Wichita Eagle-Beacon.
Small Town Papers
Smalltownpapers.com contains a small collection of Kansas papers. This are free to access/search and for the most part are from the last two decades.
Osborne County Newspapers
The Osborne Public Library has digitized papers from Osborne County from 1870 to 1989. Among the titles included are the Osborne County Farmer and the Downs News and Times.
Topeka Papers
The Topeka & Shawnee Public Library has a number of local papers available on microfilm in their local history collection. Among the titles are complete runs of the Topeka State Journal, Topeka Daily Capitol, and Topeka Capitol Journal.
Republic County Newspapers
Belleville Public Library has digitized a number of Republic County papers. There are numerous titles dating from 1876 to 1925