Aggregated Newspapers
- Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America starting in 1959 to the present.
Native American
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowThere are a number of newspapers included in this collection. Most are from the second half of the 20th century. There is significant coverage of the American Indian Movement.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North AmericaA collection of papers from the United States and Canada from 1828 to 2016.
- Cherokee PhoenixAccess to three different projects with digitized versions of the Cherokee Phoenix. The dates range from 1828-1834.
Women's Newspapers
- Lily: a temperance and feminist newspaper, 1849-1856 This link opens in a new windowThe Lily, the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer.
Mexican and Mexican American
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American PressThis collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
African American
- African American newspapers: the 19th Century This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains: Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Colored American (1837-1841), The North Star (1847-1851), The National Era (1847-1860), Provincial Freeman (1854-1857), Fredrick Douglass' Paper (1851-1855), Christian Recorder (1861-1902).
- African American newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers. Over 50 are from Kansas.
- Atlanta daily world (1931-2010) This link opens in a new windowAtlanta Daily World provides access to the South's largest African American newspaper.
- Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010) This link opens in a new windowThe Baltimore Afro-American was one of the most widely circulated African-American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. Dates of coverage: 1893 to 1988
- Black Newspapers in KansasA list of 80 African American newspapers published in Kansas.
- Black PantherSearch the official paper of the Black Panthers from 1967 through 1980.
- Chicago Defender (1905-2010) This link opens in a new windowThe Chicago Defender was the largest and most influential African American newspaper by World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.
- Cleveland call and post (1934-2010) This link opens in a new windowThis important Midwest African American newspaper is particularly important for its coverage of the Scottsboro Trial. Dates of coverage: 1934 to 1991.
- The Friend of ManPublish is Central New York, Friend of Man was published
281 issues, from 1836 - 1842.
- Kansas City CallKansas City’s Black newspaper, The Kansas City Call documents the lives of African Americans in aspects related to civil rights, urban development, sports, and many others. The searchable advertisements also provide insight into black business in the city.
Coverage for the years 1933 – 2008 currently available. Full access from 1919-2010 coming in Spring 2024.
- Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2010) This link opens in a new windowSearch the pages of the most important Western African American newspaper. Dates of coverage: 1934 to 2005.
- Muncie TimesThis collection consists of digitized volumes of the Muncie Times newspaper published by owner and publisher Bea Morten-Foster since 1991. This bi-weekly publication serves the African American communities of Muncie, Richmond, Marion, New Castle and Anderson, Indiana.
- New York Amsterdam news (1922-2010) This link opens in a new windowNew York Amsterdam News documents the past of New York's African American community, including the Harlem Renaissance, the desegregation of the U.S. Military and the Civil Rights Movement.
- Norfolk journal and guide, 1916-2010 This link opens in a new windowUnder the leadership of P.B. Young, the "Dean of the Negro Press," The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s.
- Pittsburgh courier (1911-2010) This link opens in a new windowThe Pittsburgh Courier was once the most widely circulated black newspaper in the U.S. in the early 20th century.
- Philadelphia tribune, 1912-2010 This link opens in a new windowThe oldest continuously published daily black newspaper in the U.S., The Philadelphia Tribune was founded by Christopher James Perry. His paper conveyed ideas and opinions about local and national issues affecting blacks in the post-emancipation period, and today continues to serve the country's fourth-largest African- American community.
Non-English Language Papers
- Dziennik ZwiazkowyEstablished in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy, continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database includes the first ten years (1908-1917) of publication, which represent local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago.
- New Orleans Bee/ L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-OrléansThe New Orleans Bee/ L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans was a French language newspaper published in New Orleans beginning on September 1, 1827. An English section was added three months later. The newspaper continued as a dual language publication until 1872 when the English portion was dropped and once again it became French only. Briefly [1829-1830] there was also a Spanish language section. The New Orleans Bee was originally published three times a week, but became a daily after a few years
Subject Guide
Sara Morris
Contact:
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
785-864-8907
Japanese American
- Manzanar Free PressThe official publication of the Manzanar Relocation Center Administration and newspaper of Manzanar Community Enterprises. Issues cover from April 11, 1942 through September 8, 1945.
Jewish Newspapers
- The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper ProjectThe Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (PJN) is a unique, free, searchable fulltext archive that documents the history and life of the Jewish community in Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania. To date, it is a digital archive of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962) and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).