Museum Image Databases
- National Palace Museum Collection, Taipei (Luna Image Database)Restricted to KU students, faculty and staff. Approximately 5,004 images of selected objects from the NPM permanent collection.
Image copyright
Permissions, a Survival Guide: Blunt Talk about Art as Intellectual Property by Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 2006. Readers will learn how to determine if an artwork is copyrighted, how to get a high-quality reproduction, and what 'fair use' is.
Artists Rights Society. The preeminent copyright, licensing, and monitoring organization for visual artists in the United States. Founded in 1987, ARS represents the intellectual property rights interests of over 50,000 visual artists and estates of visual artists from around the world (painters, sculptors, photographers, architects and others).
Copyright Crash Course. A website prepared by Georgia Harper, Office of General Counsel at the University of Texas, outlining some of the legal issues regarding copyright and fair use.
General information
Images may be found in a variety of formats on publicly accessible web sites. Copyright restrictions may apply to these images, and the web master of a given site may need to be consulted when images are used. Many large and small museums have excellent web sites which display images from their collections as well as information about the images and contacts for more assistance. The library also has many lavishly illustrated books and journals that are available for research.
Finding Images on the Web A tutorial prepared at Boston Univ. that provides an excellent introduction for image searching.
Flickr and Picasaweb Online images
News images
- Associated Press This link opens in a new windowAccess over 180 years of the photographs, sound bites, and graphics from the archives of the Associated Press.
Art images
Bridgeman Art Library A commercial vendor founded in 1972 offering art, culture, and history images from over 8,000 collections; more than 55,000 entries and 46,497 images from over 29,000 artists.
Oxford Art Online Gateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. In addition to the more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies, the product offers 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.