Subject & Course Guides: Guide to Study Japanese Classical Literature and Classical Japanese Language: Web Sites and Apps for Studying Classical Japanese Texts

English Websites for Studying Classical Japanese: Grammar

This box lists websites developed to assist studying classic Japanese for non-Japanese native speakers.

Kobun [Classical Japanese] Verbs & How to Use Them
This page introduces short and long term approach to study classical Japanese, focusing on conjugation.
Bungo Nyumon: A Brief Introduction to Classical Japanese
This site presents paradigms and forms of classical Japanese.
Paradigm Chart
Taken from "Bungo nyumon" website, this chart shows conjugations of classical Japanese.

Websites for Studying Classical Japanese: Online Dictionaries

This box lists online dictionaries useful for classical Japanese studies. Plesae note that texts are all in Japanese.

全文全訳古語辞典Web版=Unabridged Ancient Japanese Dictionary)
This dictionary includes 25,000 headwords essential for reading Japanese classical literature. This is included in JapanKnowledge database.
To use, get access to JapanKnowledge from the link, then search by the words you would like to study. From the search results, select the entry from "Unabridged Ancient Japanese Dictionary."
weblio 古語辞典
Includes 23,000 classic Japanese words with definition, conjugation and samples. Text is in Japanese.
漢字辞典online
Includes 12,000 kanji characters. The user can search kanji characters by the number of strokes, radicals, etc.
JapanKnowledge Lib
Multi-purpose reference database available through KU Libraries. This database includes many useful dictionaries for studying classic Japanese, such as 『全文全訳古語辞典』, 『日本国語大辞典』 and 『字通』.

Websites for Studying Classical Japanese: Texts

日本古典文学全集（オンライン）
The online version of 『日本古典文学全集』available in JapanKnowledge. To use, access to JapanKnowledge, then select 『日本古典文学全集』 from 「詳細（個別）検索」.
Genji Monogatari Cloud Computing Library by Eiichi ShibuyaFujiwara Teika
Offered by Eiichi Shibuya, professor emeritus of Takushoku University, this page includes the classic text of the Tale of Genji. The Japanese romanization, modern translation, etc.
百人一首
This site introduces the 100 poems in『小倉百人一首』and explains what grammar patterns are used in each poem.

Apps for Studying Kanji Characters

This box lists apps designed to help searching for kanji characters. Links to apps for iOC and Android are separately listed.

常用漢字筆順辞典 FREE

This app helps you to find the reading of approx. 6,000 kanji characters. You write the character you would like to know how to read on the smartphone, then this app tells you how to read the character and its stroke order.

漢字読み方検索ー手書き漢字読み方検索辞典

This app helps you to find the reading of kanji characters and compound words.

Android version

Apps for Studying Classical Japanese

This box lists apps designed to assist classic Japanese reading. Links to apps for iOC and Android are separately listed.

古文・漢文

This app includes more than 800 quizzes for classic Japanese words and grammar, as well as kanbun (classical Chinese).

古文品詞マスター

This app helps you to divide classic Japanese sentence into phrases.

iOS version

超速！古典単語ー最速で覚えられる古典アプリ

This app helps you to memorize words appeared in classic Japanese texts.

Android version

大修館全訳古語辞典（有料）

App version of Kodo jiten by 大修館. All entries are accompanied with modern translation.