Selected Databases
- U.S. Documents Masterfile: 1774-Present This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive electronic guide to federal, state, local and international public documents, spanning over 200 years of publication, in a single searchable database.
- Catalog of U.S. government publications This link opens in a new windowThe Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) covers electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the United States Federal Government. As of Februrary 2007, the catalog contains approximately 500,000 records for materials published primarily since 1976. The Government Printing Office (GPO) will be adding records for older materials as they can, and will be continually adding records for newly published materials as released. Records for electronic (Internet accessible) materials will contain links to those files.
Indexes to Journals
To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the Library Catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the 
symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.
General indexes
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Urban Planning indexes
- Avery index to architectural periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index to journal literature in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history covering more than 700 U.S. and foreign journals. Updated weekly
- HUD USER Bibliographic DatabaseDedicated to housing and community issues. It contains full-abstract citations to research reports, journal articles, books and data sources in housing policy, economic development, urban planning and other relevant fields.
- Journal of Planning LiteratureIncludes review articles, annotated bibliographies, listings and abstracts of recent literature in city and regional planning design. Each issue contains one to three refereed literature reviews and Council of Planning Librarians Bibliographies; book reviews; several hundred abstracts of books, journal articles, dissertations, and several hundred bibliographic listings.
- RIBA British architectural library : catalogue This link opens in a new windowIncludes an index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the Royal Institute of British Architects as well as the catalog to the library's collection, the photograph collection, the drawing collection, the manuscript collection, and a biographical database of architects.
Urban Studies Abstracts. See Academic Search Premier which provides full text access to the journals indexed in this database.
Related topics indexes
- PAIS index This link opens in a new windowContains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more about public policy and work affairs.
- Environment index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts to the journal literature in the area of environmental policy and studies. The database covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Formerly called: Environmental issues & policy index.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- Transportation Library at Northwestern UniversityUse the NUtranlit tab to search for transportation and law enforcement articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more.