Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program
This page is specifically designed for participants in the Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program at the University of Kansas.
The Pre-academic English training is a benefit made available to approximately 70 to 100 incoming participants on the Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program, an exchange activity sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The Institute of International Education (IIE) has designed special programs implemented by host institutions to provide necessary English language training.
Guide for Visiting Scholars
- The Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship ProgramA program for young and mid-career professionals sponsored by the U.S. Department of State
- Fulbright Culture Shock GuideGuide with helpful tips. (Fulbright Visiting Scholars program)
Useful links
Quick links:
- Open Language Resource CenterThe Open Language Resource Center supports the study of the Humanities by providing a broad range of instructional support, by expanding educational opportunities, and by promoting best practices in the creation of Open Educational Resources.
In addition to housing an audio/video collection of over 13,000 items in 60 languages, the Center contains an 36-seat active learning classroom, two computer labs, a media-enhanced conference room, a soundproofed recording studio and a learning commons designed to facilitate collaborative work. - (formerly EGARC - Academic Resource Center - https://egarc.ku.edu/ )
Requesting Articles or Books through Interlibrary Loan
The first time you want to use interlibrary loan to request articles or books not owned by KU Libraries, you will need to set up an account. The instructions are provided in the document below:
Recommended Readings about Ethics and Plagiarism
- Ethics of Research, Writing, and PublicationStichler (2014)
- Publishing Ethical Research: A Step-by-Step OverviewWester (2011)
- Ethics in the universityReflections on Responsible Scholarship
- PH.D. IN "COPY-AND-PASTE"?Addressing the Rise of Plagiarism in Graduate Programs
- The Ethics of Self-PlagiarismHow can republishing one’s own work be defined as plagiarism if the author has only used his or her own words and ideas? This white paper explores the definition of self-plagiarism, how it crosses into copyright laws and ethical issues, and the different ways an author can avoid this increasingly controversial act of scholarly misconduct.
Recommended Readings:
- What should I know about how copyright and plagiarism relate?Duke University ScholarWorks
- The Difference Between Copyright Infringement and PlagiarismPlagiarism Today. By Jonathan Bailey - October 7, 2013
- Plagiarism, Attribution and Fair UsePlagiarism Today. By Jonathan Bailey - November 16, 2017
- Plagiarism, Copyright Infringement, and Fair UseBlog. Digital Information Law, Attorney Gretchen McCord
Creating a Research Question
- Developing a Research QuestionIt's absolutely essential to develop a research question that you're interested in or care about in order to focus your research and your paper. (SUNY Empire State College)
Research Resources
Citation Manager
- Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research - How to Cite Sources - Citation SoftwareCitation Software
(Ohio State University) - How to Select and Use Citation Management Tools: ZoteroKU Libraries. This online guide contains information on different tools that will make citing sources in your papers easier.
How to Search Effectively (Univ. of Arizona)
- How to search effectivelyInteractive tutorial on how to use AND & OR & truncation to improve your search techniques and results.
English and Multilingual Open Access Databases
- Open Access Spanish & Latin American RepositoriesThis is a guide to open access repositories that contain journals, theses, and ebooks published in Latin America and Spain. Open access means that everyone has access without restrictions at all times.
- KU Scholar WorksKU ScholarWorks is the digital repository of the University of Kansas. It contains scholarly work created by KU faculty, staff and students, as well as material from the University Archives. KU ScholarWorks makes important research and historical items available to a wider audience and helps assure their long-term preservation.
- Open Educational ResourcesThis guide provides information and resources for users interested in learning about open educational resources (OER).
- Open Textbook LibraryOpen textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost.
- Open StaxIn 2017 KU was admitted to the OpenStax Institutional Partner Program with the support of the Provost, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, and KU Libraries. OpenStax is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization based at Rice University whose stated mission is to improve student access to education.
- LibreTextsThe LibreTexts project is a multi-institutional collaborative effort to improve education at all levels of higher learning by developing Open Access Resources.
- Lumen LearningLumen Learning’s mission is to enable unprecedented learning for all students.
We do this by using open educational resources (OER) to create well-designed and low-cost course materials that replace expensive textbooks.
The first rule of scholarly research
Textbook
- Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic ResearchOhio State University
(Click on "Read Book") - The Information Literacy User's Guide: An Open, Online TextbookOpen SUNY (2014)
Recommended Readings
The Craft of Research by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780226239873Publication Date: 2016-10-284th edition
Introduction to Research Methods and Report Writing : A Practical Guide for Students and Researchers in Social Sciences and the Humanities by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781498278515Publication Date: 2016-04-08
The Information Literacy User's Guide by ISBN: 9780989722629Publication Date: 2014An Open, Online Textbook
Doing Honest Work in College by ISBN: 0226484777Publication Date: 2008This book will be placed on reserve for short-term use only in the library. Inquire at the 3rd floor Circulation desk in Watson library. Hard copies and e-books are also available for purchase on Amazon, Google Books, and other locations.
Abstracts and the Writing of Abstracts by ISBN: 9780472033355Publication Date: 2009KU does not hold this book.
Chronicle of Higher Education
This online version features daily reports on developments in higher education, information technology, and distance education. The full text of the current issue of The Chronicle is available every Monday morning, following the Friday print publication. The site features an archive of more than 12 years of The Chronicle. You can access the Chronicle via your smart phone by setting up a free Chronicle account using your KU email address.
The Chronicle of Higher Education offers a comprehensive list of academic meetings and conferences. You can find The Chronicle in your university library or at www.chronicle.com.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationLicensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Books about Research Ethics
Research Ethics for Scientists by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781119978879Publication Date: 2011-09-19
Research Ethics by Call Number: Q180.55.M67 R465 2012 (Anschutz Library)ISBN: 9780521187084Publication Date: 2013-01-03
Compliance training - Human Subjects
- University of Kansas Office of Research - Human Subjects Compliance TutorialThe Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative, or CITI, provides all KU researchers and associates with access to training and a Human Subjects tutorial.