International Students' Guide to Research Skills and Using the KU Libraries: HHH Fellows

This guide, designed especially for the needs of international students, provides explanations of how to do research using the KU Libraries' resources. It includes links, tutorials, and step-by-step instructions on developing research skills.

Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program

Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program logo

 

          This page is specifically designed for participants in the Hubert H. Humphrey                                 Fellowship Program at the University of Kansas.

Guide for Visiting Scholars

Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program logo

Contact a librarian for help

question mark image

Feel free to contact the following librarians for an appointment to help you with your research.  Mary Raple, who assisted with some of your research training sessions about the library, will be happy to answer any questions, or to direct you to a librarian specializing in your area.

Public Administration and Social Sciences - Amalia Monroe-Gulick almonroe@ku.edu   

Law & Government - Neal Axton neal.axton@ku.edu

Business & Government - Carmen Orth-Alfie corthalf@ku.edu     

Geography & Geology & Atmospheric Sciences - Scott McEathron macmap68@ku.edu

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies - Tami Albin  albin@ku.edu 

GIS - Rhonda Houser  rhouser@ku.edu

Architecture & Art - Andi Back aback@ku.edu

Zotero (citation manager) - Paul Thomas paulthomas@ku.edu

International Collections librarians

Spanish - Mary Raple mraple@ku.edu

Spanish - Betsaida Reyes breyes@ku.edu  

African Studies - Jon Giullian giullian@ku.edu

East Asian/Chinese & Korean - Vickie Doll vdoll@ku.edu

East Asian/Japanese - Michiko Ito mito@ku.edu

Slavic - Jon Giullian giullian@ku.edu

French/Europe - Frances Devlin fadevlin@ku.edu   

Useful links

Quick links:

Requesting Articles or Books through Interlibrary Loan

The first time you want to use interlibrary loan to request articles or books not owned by KU Libraries, you will need to set up an account.  The instructions are provided in the document below:

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.

Creating a Research Question

Important Tips for Successful Database Use

Citation Manager

How to Search Effectively (Univ. of Arizona)

English and Multilingual Open Access Databases

Open Access image

The first rule of scholarly research

I will not Google before I check the databases! meme

Chronicle of Higher Education

This online version features daily reports on developments in higher education, information technology, and distance education. The full text of the current issue of The Chronicle is available every Monday morning, following the Friday print publication. The site features an archive of more than 12 years of The Chronicle. You can access the Chronicle via your smart phone by setting up a free Chronicle account using your KU email address.

The Chronicle of Higher Education offers a comprehensive list of academic meetings and conferences. You can find The Chronicle in your university library or at www.chronicle.com.

Recommended Readings

Books about Research Ethics

Recommended Readings about Ethics and Plagiarism

Readings for Dean Smith's lecture:

Compliance training - Human Subjects