About
Ukrainian Art & Architecture
.svg)
Images left to right: Trinity Monastery in Chernihiv, the Old Fortress in Kamianets-Podliskyi, rebuilt Uspensky cathedral of the Kievo-Pecherska Lavra, wheat field and sky symbolizing the Ukrainian flag. Images from: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Україна
Recommended Books
Kiev: A Portrait, 1800-1917 by Call Number: DK503.935 .H36 1993ISBN: 069103253XPublication Date: 1993An E-book is also available. To view the record in the Library catalog paste the following URL in your browser: http://catalog.lib.ku.edu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?bbid=8156073
Kyiv, Ukraine: The City of Domes and Demons from the Collapse of Socialism to the Mass Uprising of 2013-2014 by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9048523400Publication Date: 2014
Antique art on the northern Black Sea coast: architecture, sculpture, painting, applied arts by Call Number: folio N6995.B56 S6413Publication Date: 1974
READ: Kazymyr Malevych: Ukraine's Most Famous Artist
Kazimir Malevich and the Art of Geometry by Call Number: ND699.M285 M56 1996ISBN: 0300064179Publication Date: 1996-10-30
Kazimir Malevich by Call Number: folio N6999.M34 D67 1994ISBN: 0810936453Publication Date: 1994-09-12
WATCH: Kazymyr Malevych: Ukraine's Most Famous Artist
WATCH: Ukrainian Architecture at War
Web Resources
- Art UkraineART UKRAINE is an online magazine specializing in Ukrainian and global visual art. The magazine publishes information about world art exhibitions, art fairs, critical reviews, interviews and thematic articles.
- Cities/Buildings Database
The Cities/Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. - Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine - ArtInternet Encyclopedia of Ukraine is a project developed by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies about the history, people, geography, cultural heritage of Ukraine. The Art and Architecture page contains images and information on art projects from Kyivan Rus' to 20th century times.
- Rodovid PressRODOVID Press is a Ukrainian project which publishes art albums and books about history of art. The publications introduce regions and historical figures to their readers and are available in Ukrainian, Russian, English, and French.
- Castles and Churches of UkraineThis project provides information about important landmarks, such as castles, churches, fortifications, etc, in Ukraine. The webpage consists of different regions which provides historical details and images about the places.
Museums of Ukrainian Art & Architecture
- National Art Museum of UkraineNational Art Museum of Ukraine is an extensive collection of Ukrainian art, which includes 40 thousand exhibits of Ukrainian iconography, sculpture, painting, etc. from XII century to the present day.
- Ukrainian Institute of Modern ArtUkrainian Institute of Modern Art in Chicago presents contemporary art, offers a variety of exhibitions, literary and musical events, etc.
- Museum of Folk Architecture and Rural LifeThe museum aims to present different ethnographic regions of Western Ukraine, their culture, customs, architecture, and everyday life.
- Museum of Ukrainian Decorative Folk ArtThe museum's collection consists of over 75 thousand decorative folk items from all ethnographic regions of Ukraine.
- The Ukrainian Museum in New York CityThe Ukrainian Museum in New York City preserves Ukrainian cultural heritage of traditional crafts and art, and unique artistic items from 20th and 21st centuries.