Subject & Course Guides: Ukraine: Articles & Databases

What's a library database? - tutorial

What is a scholarly journal article?

Find Articles by Citation

Find Articles by Citation

Use Citation Linker to find articles by citation.

Slavic & Eurasian studies databases (English & foreign languages)

Slavic and Eurasian Studies Databases (English & Foreign Languages)

American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
Indexes English-language scholarship about Russia, Eastern Europe, & Eurasia. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government documents.
Ukrainian Publications This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Ukraine. Publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine.Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian
Ukrainian National Bibliography
The Ukrainian National Bibliography is useful source (index) for identifying materials published in the Republic of Ukraine. Formats include books, journals, newspapers, theses and dissertations, reviews, maps, music, works of art, and periodicals from the Ukrainian Book Chamber.

Ukraïnica: The Primary Database of Ukrainian Studies
A platform that connects a database of Ukrainian literary works, historical documents, and films in high-quality English translation with a syllabus-building tool.
more...less...
The main goal of this platform is to help those looking to introduce the study of Ukraine into their classroom with English-language materials that shed light on Ukraine's fascinating history, rich culture, and the resilient, creative, and hard-working people of various ethnic, linguistic, and religious backgrounds that have populated it since ancient times.
Soviet Era Ukrainian Newspapers
Chronicles events and life in Ukraine during the tumultuous era of 1899-1939. Comprises nearly 65,000 pages of five titles from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv.
Fontes: Open Access Sources for Ukrainian HIstory
Database of websites that host online, open-access primary sources on Ukraine’s history.
Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers
The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers collection traces the history of Ukraine during this early period of independence, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005). Comprising over 900 titles, this database includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns/

Multi-Subject Databases (Mostly in English).

Multi-Subject Databases (Mostly in English)

To search for articles in many databases simultaneously, go to PRIMO.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of Slavic Review, Slavic and East European Journal, and several other important journals in Slavic and Eurasian studies.
Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals in many disciplines. Indexes various journals in Slavic & Eurasian studies.
Historical abstracts This link opens in a new window
Essential for researching the history of the world from 1450 to the present (except US and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Indexes journals and books.
ProQuest research library This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences from 1971. Indexes some sources for Slavic & Eurasian studies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences.
Gale Academic: OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals in many academic disciplines spanning at least 25 years. Includes 17 journals related to Slavic & Eurasian studies.
America: history and life This link opens in a new window
Includes lots of information on US foreign policy. Full text for more than 280 journals.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.

State Archives (mostly in Ukrainian)

State Archives

Central State Archive of Public Associations and Ukrainians
The National Archive comprises documents of national importance, political and public associations operating on the territory of Ukraine before 1991 and of independent Ukraine, documents that are cultural and historical heritage of Ukraine, documents about repressed citizens and leadership bodies, etc. Documents of the Communist Party of Ukraine represent the main body of this archive.
Central State Historical Archives of Ukraine in Kyїv
The archive consists of documents from various periods of Ukrainian history, dating back to Hetmanate period. The website has a catalogue of the Perish registers, sorted by the churches and their locations, in digital and scanned formats.
Central State Archive for Audiovisual and Electronic Materials
The materials available in this archive date back to the late 1800s, which hold more than 63,000 film documents, over 390,000 visual documents, and 45,000 sound recordings. They represent Ukrainian historical periods of the 19th-20th centuries. The website is available in Ukrainian language only.

Other Selected Databases

Anthropology plus This link opens in a new window

eHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, seeks to encourage and facilitate comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.