WorldCat and DuXiu Knowledge Search
Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here
WorldCat Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
DuXiu 读秀 meta search engine (2 million Chinese ebooks and etexts)
- Request a Purchase (If KU Libraries doesn't have it)This link will lead you to a form to fill out the requested item information. KU online log-in is required.
Subject Headings
The Library of Congress subject headings system was originally designed as a controlled vocabulary for representing the subject and form of the books and serials in the Library of Congress collection, with the purpose of providing subject access points to the bibliographic records contained in the Library of Congress catalogs.
As an increasing number of other libraries have adopted the Library of Congress subject headings system, it has become a tool for subject indexing of library catalogs in general.
- China--Civilization--1976-2002Link to the KU Libraries catalog of items held at KU
- China--Social conditions--1976-2000limit by language; choose English
Suggested Books
Appetites : food and sex in postsocialist China by Call Number: GT497.C6 F37 2002Publication Date: Durham, NC : Duke University Press, 2002.
China : fragile superpower by Call Number: JC311 .S525 2007ISBN: 0195306090Publication Date: 2007-04-16"How China’s internal politics could derail its peaceful rise"--Jkt.
China in transition [electronic resource] : issues and policies by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: London : Macmillan Press, 1999.Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
China road : a journey into the future of a rising power by Call Number: DS712 .G53 2007ISBN: 9781400064670Publication Date: 2007-05-29Includes bibliographical references (p. [301]-304) and index.
China’s urban billion [electronic resource] : the story behind the biggest migration in human history by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: London ; New York : Zed Books, 2012.
Chinese Society : change, conflict and resistance by Call Number: HN733.5 .C444 2010ISBN: 041556073XPublication Date: London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Film in contemporary China : critical debates, 1979-1989 by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 F5 1993Publication Date: New York : Praeger, 1993.
Grassroots Political Reform in Contemporary China by Call Number: JQ1516 .G73 2007ISBN: 9780674024854Publication Date: 2007-03-31
Living with Reform : China since 1989 by Call Number: DS779.2 .C4418 2006ISBN: 1842777238Publication Date: 2007-01-23Publisher: Nova Scotia : Fernwood Pub. ; London ; New York : Zed Books : Distributed in the USA exclusively by Palgrave Macmillan, c2006.- Modern China [electronic resource] : a very short introduction byCall Number: eBookPublication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Restless China [electronic resource] by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1442215127Publication Date: Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc., [2013]Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Sinicization and the rise of China [electronic resource] : civilizational processes beyond East and West by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2012.Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.
The Changing Face of China : from Mao to market by Call Number: DS777.55 .G53 2005ISBN: 0192806122Publication Date: 2005-09-23Economics in command: the modernization of China; The party under pressure: reform and reaction; The scholars speak out: humanism or bourgeois liberalism? The door opens wide: China and the world economy; Tiananmen Square, 1989: turning-point for China; Into the new millennium: China transformed; China and the world: from Mao to market.
Understanding Chinese families : a comparative study of Taiwan and Southeast China by Call Number: HQ686 .C48 2010Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.Social backgrounds of China and Taiwan ;Co-residence and family size' Family fertility; Marriage patterns ; Housework and household decisions; Revealed son preferences; The role of the family in child education;
Intergenerational mobility...
Suggested Books
- Children of Marx and Coca-Cola [electronic resource] : Chinese avant-garde art and independent cinema / Xiaoping Lin. byPublication Date: 2010Available online.
Chinese Globalization by Call Number: HF1604 .S853 2013ISBN: 9780415673037Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Contemporary China by Call Number: DS779.43 .B76 2015ISBN: 9781137510105Publication Date: 2015-05-29
Contemporary Chinese Visual Culture by Call Number: N72.G55 C665 2010ISBN: 9781604977219Publication Date: 2010-08-01- Eating bitterness [electronic resource] : stories from the front lines of China’s great urban migration / Michelle Dammon Loyalka. byPublication Date: 2012Available online.
Education reform in China [electronic resource] : changing concepts, contexts and practices by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: New York : Routledge, 2011.Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Gender politics in modern China : writing and feminism by Call Number: PL2442 .G46 1993ISBN: 0822313766Publication Date: Durham : Duke University Press, 1993.
Globalization and Localization by Call Number: HC427.95 .G558 2012ISBN: 9789814374408Publication Date: 2011-11-29
The Globalization of Chinese Propaganda by Call Number: JQ1512.Z13 P85317 2014ISBN: 9781137382146Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Inspired by China by Call Number: folio NK2408.2 .B475 2006ISBN: 0875772072Publication Date: 2007-02-15
Nine Lives: the Birth of Avant-Garde Art in New China by Call Number: N7345 .S65 2008ISBN: 9789881714336Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Performing Images by Call Number: folio N8234.O63 P47 2014ISBN: 9780935573558Publication Date: 2014-02-15
A story of ruins : presence and absence in Chinese art and visual culture / Wu Hung. by Call Number: N7340 .W855 2012ISBN: 1861898762Publication Date: 2012
Visual Culture in Contemporary China by Call Number: N72.S6 T36 2015ISBN: 9781107084391Publication Date: 2015-01-08
Youth and Internet Addiction in China by Call Number: HQ799.9.I58 B39 2014ISBN: 9780415656917Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Tips on Finding Books
- KU Library CatalogCheck the KU Libraries Catalog for books, videos, journal titles, and more.
- Bibliographies and ReferencesYou may find other works related to your research from bibliographies in reference works, books, and articles. Example: pp. 268-69 "Further reading" in Dillon's "Contemporary China".
Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services
Request Materials (articles and books)
- Interlibrary Loan BorrowingDo you want to avoid having to key in bibliographic information on interlibrary loan or document delivery request forms? Find the citation you want in a KU Libraries database, click on the
button, and then click on “Request a loan or copy of this item”. You will need to authenticate but then the information will pre-populate into the request form. - Frequently Asked QuestionsAbout recall