Libraries

African American Human Rights Activities and Movements: Wilcox Collection

This subject guide provides information on selected primary resources held at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas for the study and teaching of African American human rights activities and movements.

About

The Wilcox Collection is one of the largest assemblages of US left and right wing political literature in this country. Established in 1965, the collection has grown steadily to include coverage of more than 10,000 individuals and organizations. The bulk of the collection covers 1960 to the present and is comprised of nearly 10,000 books, pamphlets and periodicals, 800 audio tapes, 73 linear feet of manuscript materials and more than 100,000 pieces of ephemera including flyers, brochures, mailings, clippings and bumper stickers. Laird Wilcox, the originator of the collection, continues to make regular donations and additions are being actively sought.

Activisim for African American Rights Across the United States

  • Black Panther, Oakland and Berkeley, California [RH WL G58] Newspaper of the Black Panther Party in California. Holdings are from March 16, 1968 through December 28. 1974.
  • Panther 21 Trial News (New York) [RH WL D3827] Newspaper from March 1970 to 1971.
  • We don't want you coming here clapping and leaving here not doing nothing--you've got to make a commitment!  [RH WL C150] A pamphlet containing remarks by Black Panther Party leader, Fred Hampton. 
  • Resolutions of the National Negro Congress held in Chicago, Ill., February 14, 15, 16, 1936. A. Philip Randolph, President. [Josephson 2964]
  • The March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, August 28, 1963 [RH WL D695] Includes speeches delivered by A. Philip Randolph, James Farmer, Roy Wilkins, Eugene Carson Blake, Joachim Prinz, Whitney M. Young, Martin Luther King, Jr., Methew Ahman, John Lewis, and Walter Reuther.