ANTH 177 - How to Find a Lost City: Finding Articles

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides searchable access to full-text and full-images from some of America's most important newspapers.

(London, England). The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

Over two hundred Kansas newspapers from 1854 to 1981. Among those included are titles from the Sunflower State that are part of African American Newspapers, 1827-1998. This collection provides access to some years of the Emporia Gazette.

Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Including:
*Geographical Journal
*Geographical Review
*Geography
*Bulletin of the American Geographical Society

A web search engine that provides a way to search the scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

Check "Related Articles" for leads to additional material.

For best results, configure Google Scholar to provide "Get at KU" links to KU Libraries' licensed resources, especially if you're working from off-campus. See our information on accessing KU Libraries resources via Google Scholar.

A research portal that provides enhanced ways and methods to search numerous primary source collections from Gale.

Contains full text content from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers.

Search the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Provides online access to over 3.8 million dissertations and master's theses with 1.7 million available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database.

A combination of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature, this resource indexes bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archeology, and related disciplines. This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries, Kansas State University Libraries, and Wichita State University.

Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

Search the publications of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), including articles, books, and newsletters.

This cross-cultural database contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. It is sponsored by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, which seeks to encourage and facilitate comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. Its source documents of books, articles, dissertations, ethnohistories, and recent ethnographies support research on a single culture or cross-cultural comparisons.

Contains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.

A full text history reference database featuring content from almost 2,000 reference and non-fiction books.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Provides expert commentary. Subject coverage includes: African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Chinese Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Latino Studies, International Law, International Relations, Latin American Studies, and Sociology.