Japanese Studies Reference: Art History: Museum Sites

Instead of maintaining a permanent collection, this museum provides its 14,000 square meters of exhibition space to serve as a venue for various art exhibitions.

Bi-weekly online magazine on art, exhibition, etc.

"artasiamerica is a professional digital archive of Asian/Asian American contemporary visual artists. It is a historical image & document archive specialized in Asian American visual culture from 1945 to the present" (artasiamerica).

日本の美術館・博物館・イベント、ニュース等が検索出来るサイト。

This site provides news on exhibitions, lectures, etc. on Buddhism and Buddhist art.

Portal cite on art, operated by 美術手帖, one of the major art magazines in Japan. Includes news, interviews, reviews, etc.

Hosted by Yomiuri Newspaper, this site introduces the latest information on exhibitions in Japan and provides reviews, essays, etc. on art.

Provides informaton on art exhibitions held in over 300 museums in Japan.

Available in Japanese, English, Chinese and Korean.

Available in Japanese and English.

Available in Japanese and English.

This museum is famous for promoting outsider art.

Founded on March 28,1993, this museum functions as a facility to preserve the historical heritage of Edo-Tokyo.

A private Museum, owned by Suntory Corporation. Some of their collections are designated as national treasures or as important cultural properties.

Available in Japanese and English.

Opened in 2010, Mitsubishi Ichigokan was originally built in 1894 and is known as the first Western-style office building in Tokyo’s Marunouchi district. The original structure was down town in 1968, but the reconstructed building faithfully reproduces Josiah Conder's original design and uses some of the original interior components. Their collection focuses on the art works produced in the late 19th century, the period when the original building was constructed.

Originally founded by Baron Iwasaki Yanosuke (1851-1908), Mitsubishi's second president, and his younger brother lwasaki Yataro (1835-85), Seikado Bunko Library and Art Museum houses 20,000 classic books and 6.500 art works, including 7 National Treasures and 84 Important Cultural Properties.

A collection by the Mitsui Family over the past three centuries. The museum is located in the Mitsui Main Building, which was built in the early Showa era and has been designated an Important Cultural Property. The collection includes 6 National Treasures and 75 Important Cultural Properties.

Opened in January 2020, this museum was originally known as ブリジストン美術館 (The Bridgestone Museum of Art), which was closed in 2015. The name of the newly opened museum combines the words "art" and "horizon." The collection extends from traditional to contemporary art works.

Stores the collection of Kaichiro Nezu (1860-1940), a well-known philanthropist who made contributions to the development of educational and cultural initiatives. The collection is known for its Japanese and Asian artworks and has 7 National Treasures and 87 Important Cultural Properties. Nezu was a tea ceremony practitioner, therefore his collection includes tea ceremony utensils.