Accessibility for Library Resources: Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press provides streaming access to a wide variety of video and audio materials.

Transcripts

Many videos hosted on Alexander Street Press feature a live transcript, which will highlight the text being spoken at that moment. Users can also scroll through the transcript with their mouse, as well as search for specific terms within the transcript. The transcript window can also be set to high contrast mode by clicking on the settings wheel at the top of the transcript pane.

Subtitles

Most videos on Alexander Street Press feature either automatic or manually-added subtitles. These can be accessed by selecting the Close Captioning (CC) option in the lower-right corner of the playback window. The playback window also features an automatic translation feature which can be selected from this menu as well.

Many non-English videos feature embedded subtitles that cannot be turned off.

Alexander Street Video Accessibility Statement

• Alexander StreetThis link opens in a new window

  Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included.  In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources. 

   
• Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)This link opens in a new window
  Contains videos from various Alexander Street Press collections, including audio and text content.
   

Transcripts

Films on Demand offers a live transcript of videos, which includes the ability to scroll within the transcript and search for terms within the transcript. Unfortunately, the transcription service does not seem to properly transcribe languages other than English.

Subtitles

Closed captioning is available for most videos offered through Films on Demand. However, some non-English-language videos lack proper subtitling, either in English or in the language that is being spoken.

• Films on Demand
  Includes content from a wide selection of producers and covers a wide variety of subject matter. This link also includes the “World Cinema Video Collection” which includes films from around the globe.

Subtitles

English subtitles are available for all films on Kanopy, and can be activated by clicking on the "speech bubble" icon in the lower-right corner of the video player. Non-English subtitles are typically not available for English-language films, however.

Kanopy Accessibility Statement

• Kanopy
  A streaming video on-demand service which provides access to educational films.