Encyclopedias & Handbooks (print)
- Oxford Companion to German Literature (print)Covers authors and their major works as well as historical, intellectual and cultural periods of German-speaking countries from 8th century to mid-1990s.
- Pop Culture Germany! (print)Focuses on German popular culture since 1945, providing an indispensable guide for anyone planning a trip to Germany for business or pleasure or for those who wish to have a deeper understanding of the German nation. This book offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.
- Brockhaus Enzyklopädie : in dreissig Bänden.21st (2006) edition of the Brockhaus Encyclopedia; shelved in Wasno Reference
Online Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- Oxford reference This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable online database of Oxford University Press subject dictionaries and reference works in the Premium Collection.
- Britannica online This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage and integrated searching of: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.
- AEIOU (Austria Lexikon)The Annotierbare Elektronische Interaktive Österreichische Universal-Information System. Provides culturally relevant information about Austria, including Austrian literary figures.
- Pop culture universe This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
- Brockhaus Konversationslexikon - 14. Auflage (1894-1896)16 vols. Late 19th-century edition.
- Country Profile: GermanyPart of the Library of Congress Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program.
- Merck's Warenlexikon - 3. Auflage (1884)19th-century encyclopedia for trade, industry, and commerce.
- Meyers Konversationslexikon - 4. Auflage (1885-1892)19 vols. Major competitor to the Brockhaus encyclopedia until their merger in 1986.
- Tatsachen über DeutschlandComprehensive site produced by the German government. Includes .pdf version for download.
- Zedlers Grosses Universal-LexikonDas von Johann Heinrich Zedler verlegte Universal-Lexicon ist mit Abstand das umfangreichste enzyklopädische Werk, das im Europa des 18. Jahrhunderts hervorgebracht wurde. In den 64 Bänden und 4 Supplementbänden des Lexikons befinden sich auf ca. 63.000 zweispaltigen Folioseiten rund 284.000 Artikel und 276.000 Verweisungen.