This is the "Getting started" page of the "Urban Planning Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Urban Planning Resources   Tags: architecture, cities, images, urban_planning  

Guide to the books, journals, encyclopedias, professional organizations, site planning, standards, and images related to urban planning.
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/urbanplanning Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

KU Library Catalog

KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas.

 

Other Library Catalogs

WorldCat, Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries. 

Catalog for the Hatch Reading Room, Located on the top floor of Marvin Hall, this is a non-circulating collection of over 4,000 books, 30 ongoing magazine subscriptions, and a small collection of maps.

Catalog for the Kansas State University Library, KSU's Paul Weigel Library of Architecture, Planning & Design, located in Manhattan, is a nearby architectural library. 

Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.

 

Indexes to Journal Articles

To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the Library Catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the KULINK symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.

General indexes

Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select Provides indexing, abstracting and full-text content to journal articles in a variety of disciplines.

JSTOR (To access PDF articles, your browser must allow pop-ups for this site) Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Urban Planning indexes

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, The most comprehensive index to journal literature in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history covering more than 700 U.S. and foreign journals. Updated weekly

HUD USER Bibliographic Database, Dedicated to housing and community issues. It contains full-abstract citations to research reports, journal articles, books and data sources in housing policy, economic development, urban planning and other relevant fields.

Journal of Planning Literature. Includes review articles, annotated bibliographies, listings and abstracts of recent literature in city and regional planning design. Each issue contains one to three refereed literature reviews and Council of Planning Librarians Bibliographies; book reviews; several hundred abstracts of books, journal articles, dissertations, and several hundred bibliographic listings.

RIBA British Architectural Library. Catalogue. Includes an index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the Royal Institute of British Architects as well as the catalog to the library's collection, the photograph collection, the drawing collection, the manuscript collection, and a biographical database of architects.

Urban Studies Abstracts. See Academic Search Premier which provides full text access to the journals indexed in this database.

 
Related topics indexes

PAIS International, Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more about public policy and work affairs.

Sociological Abstracts, Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

TRANweb Transportation Article File, Produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library. Index to journal articles, conference papers and other material on transportation.

Art & Architecture Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Craig
Contact Info
Phone: (785) 864-3020
Email: scraig@ku.edu
Location: Art & Architecture Library
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip