Research Starting Points
- Sociological abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
The online version of Social Sciences Citation Index has been incorporated into the Web of Science database.
Provides access to SAGE publications in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. Also includes four journal collections in communication studies, criminology, politics and international relations, and sociology.
Getting Full Text
If you do not see a PDF version of the article you need, click on the KULink button. This will provide a list of where the full text is available. You may also click on a link to do a search in the KU catalog to determine if KU has the print. And if you it is not available at KU use the link to order it through Interlibrary Loan.
Other Database Resources
- Contemporary women's issues
Provides full-text access to global information on women, including journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. (Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.)
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporates the publication Women "R".
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Contact ICPSR liaison for more information and to access data at firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Race relations abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies.
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.