Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.
Starting points
Databases
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is A systematic, and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources: Middle East is Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in many international and global studies topics. Sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online.
KU Libraries "Quick Search" will search across a number of journal databases as well as the book catalog to find information. This can be especially useful for very interdisciplinary topics.
- African StudiesSelected databases on African Studies
- Bibliography of Arabic Books OnlineThe Bibliography of Arabic Books Online (BABO) aims to become a comprehensive bibliographic database containing information about virtually all books published in Arabic before 1960
- Language and Popular Culture in AfricaLanguage and Popular Culture in Africa is a web-based project set up by Johannes Fabian and Vincent de Rooij of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at the University of Amsterdam. The main aim of LPCA is to document and further the study of expressions of popular language and culture in Africa. This is accomplished in two ways. First of all, by making available, in LPCA Text Archives and Archives of Popular Swahili, texts that express and mediate forms of African popular culture, and secondly, by publishing the Journal of Language and Popular Culture in Africa which publishes studies of African popular texts
- Kwame Nkrumah Resource GuideKwame Nkrumah was the first prime minister of Ghana (former British Gold Coast colony and British Togoland) at independence in 1957. He later became the first president of Ghana as a Republic in 1960. Nkrumah was born in the village of Nkroful in Nzima Land, an area Southwest of the Gold Coast colony. As was common in those days, keeping official records of births was not mandatory, as a result, Nkrumah’s exact date of birth is open to question. For official purposes, he used September 21, 1902, as his date of birth, recorded by the Roman Catholic Church priest who baptized him. However, Nkrumah later calculated Saturday, September 18, 1909, as the most likely date of his birth.
- Daily Observer Digital ArchiveThe Daily Observer or Liberian Observer is an independent national newspaper founded in 1981 by Kenneth Y. Best, a renowned Liberian journalist, and his wife, Mae Gene Traub Best. For more than 40 years, the Daily Observer has chronicled all facets of life, culture, and political development in the key West African state of Liberia. Due to its independent editorial stance, the Daily Observer has been recognized for its coverage of public life.
Middle East Studies Library Resources
This guide serves as a gateway to information resources pertaining to the Middle East and Arabic speaking Africa. It contains links to a variety of electronic resources, including reference sources such as online encyclopedias and bibliographies, databases and indexes, online journals and e-books, and news, cultural, and governmental sites. For the purposes of this guide the Middle East includes Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Oman, Jordan, Israel, Syria, Lebanon, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Dubai, Kuwait, Iraq, Palestine, Iran.
Guide Contact
Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850
husic@ku.edu
Kodjo Atiso- Guide Contact for Africa
Contact:
katiso@ku.edu
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519, Lawrence, KS 66045
785-864-2331