From Mao to Now: China's Red Revolution
This course on China’s Communist revolution considers the evolution of Maoism, or Chinese Communism, from its ideological origins through its implementation during and after the Chinese Communist revolution. It examines major Maoist movements such as Land Reform, the Great Leap Forward, the Cultural Revolution, and the cult of Mao. It further considers the globalization of Maoism by examining examples of other Maoist revolutions and revolutionaries in places like Cambodia, Peru, and Nepal.
Professor Megan Greene
Library Services
- Interlibrary LoanUse this link to order items not available at the KU Libraries
- My AccountAvoid overdue fees by keeping up with all the materials you have checked out. You can renew electronically!
- Retrieve from ShelfIn a hurry? Have the book you needed pulled from the shelf waiting at the library service desk of your choice.
Books
There are two primary ways to identify books. One is searching through catalogs, like the KU Libraries Catalog and WorldCat. The other is to utilize bibliographies from books and articles. Once you have a title of a work, use these catalogs to see KU owns it. If not order it through Interlibrary Loan.
- KU Libraries CatalogUse the KU Libraries Catalog to identify materials here on campus. Use a Keyword search to start--then look at subject headings to find more specific titles
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat can be used to identify sources not in the KU collection. Use Interlibrar Loan to request what you find. But remember, this takes time and not everything can be loaned.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowA variety of scholarly information, including books. Be sure to evaluate if what you found is creditable. This collection isn't curated by humans.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowDigitized material from various research libraries. Full-text view and downloading is available for materials not under copyright.
- Internet ArchiveThis website contains access to a variety of format and materials. Be sure to use the advanced search--otherwise you might feel overwhelmed.
Contacts
Cecilia Zhang, ceciliazh@ku.edu
Librarian, Chinese Studies Librarian
Sara E. Morris, semorris@ku.edu
Head, Collections Strategy & Development
Related Subject Guides
Citations
- Chicago manual of style online This link opens in a new windowUse the 17th edition of the CMS to format your paper. Chapter 14 outlines how to cite materials and complete the bibliography.