About this Guide
This guide serves as a starting point for conducting research using United States government information and the Federal Depository Library collection at KU.
Use the tabs at the top to help locate resources by databases and websites.
Topic specific guides are being developed. Please make suggestions for additonal topical guides.
Remember this is only a starting point and that there are many other resources that might be of importance to your research.
If you need additional assistance or would like to schedule a one-on-one consultation please contact me at email@example.com
Today's Document from the National Archives
Government Information Resources and the KU Libraries Government Information Collections
The KU Libraries has information resources from a number of government and international government organizations. These include:
- U.S. Federal Government. Member, Federal Depository Library Program since 1869, and Regional Library in FDLP since 1976
- U.N. Depository Program
- European Union Depository Program
- Official Publications of the United Kingdom
- State of Kansas Government Information (tangible collection located in the Specner Research Library)
- World Bank
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
Materials from these and other organizations may be available in print, microfiche or microfilm, computerized media such as CD-ROM or DVD, and via the Internet. Most materials are in the Anschutz Library. (State of Kansas materials are in the Kansas Collection, Kenneth Spencer Research Library). Internet based resources are generally available from any computer with a live Internet connection, including computers in KU Libraries (please note, some resources may require a KU affiliation in order to access from a non-KU computer).
Topical Guides for United States Government Information
- Last Updated Jun 24, 2014
Undergraduates frequently need to write persuasive speeches and papers. This guide notes the relevancy of U.S. Congressional Committee hearings to these assignments and how to locate these government information primary resources.
490 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
Basic information about declassified documents; Freedom of Information Act (FOIA); transparency of government information; and Congressional Research Service Reports.
75 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 9, 2013
Includes government information resources to locate statistics, legal documents, genealogy records and the history of Haskell Indian National University.
62 views this year
- Last Updated May 30, 2013
34 views this year
Government Information Services Coordinator
University of Kansas Libraries
FDLP Kansas Regional Coordinator; Government Information Services-- United States-- United Nations-- European Union-- Great Britian-- Data and Statistcis; Anschutz Microforms Collection
Celebrating over 37 Years as the Regional FDL for Kansas
and 145 Years as a Federal Depository Library
The University of Kansas Libraries was designated a Federal Depository Library (FDL) January 27th, 1869 and a Regional Federal Depository Library (FDL) for Kansas August 19th, 1976.
Click here to view the Federal Depository Library Directory.