Skip to main content

General Business Resources: Getting Started

Provides a listing of business-related databases and web sites

Starting Points

This guide provides information about only databases and web sites that represent recommended resources to use for research business-related topics and projects.  Business Insights: Essential and Business Source Complete, in particular, provide access to company profiles and industry reports, along with related information. 

You may want to consider starting with these KU Libraries databases:

ABI/INFORM

Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed. The subscription includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; and industry overviews.

Business source complete

Providing indexing and abstracting to business related, peer reviewed journals, BSC also indexes more than 1000 books, 5000 case studies, and more than a million company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports.

Subject Guide

Carmen Orth-Alfie
Contact:
University of Kansas Libraries
Watson Library
(785) 864-8929

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.