Libraries

Introduction to Contemporary China (EALC 121): Annotated Bibliography (APA)

Research resources on contemporary China after reform and opening up for the past thirty years in its social, economical, political and cultural changes.

Annotated Bibliography: Complete Guide (David Taylor)

In Part 1, we explore the meaning of the words "annotated" and "bibliography," paying special attention to the purposes of an annotated bib and its 3 main requirements. (by David Taylor 5:46)
In Part 2, we define the three parts of an annotation: summary, evaluation, usage. Depending on your assignment, your annotation may or may not contain all three. (5:00)

Annotated Bibliography: How to (sample, formatting, and style)

"Keep your annotation short and remain on topic. Write at least three or four sentences in your annotation...  but do not exceed a length of approximately 150 words. Write your annotation in the third person, refraining from the use of "you" or "I.""  Note that your citation should be formatted in a hanging indent; Word has a hanging-indent function.

The following example uses APA style (Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, 2010) for the journal citation:

Waite, L. J., Goldschneider, F. K., & Witsberger, C. (1986). Nonfamily living and the erosion of traditional family orientations among young adults. American Sociological Review, 51, 541-554.

The authors, researchers at the Rand Corporation and Brown University, use data from the National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Young Men to test their hypothesis that nonfamily living by young adults alters their attitudes, values, plans, and expectations, moving them away from their belief in traditional sex roles. They find their hypothesis strongly supported in young females, while the effects were fewer in studies of young males. Increasing the time away from parents before marrying increased individualism, self-sufficiency, and changes in attitudes about families. In contrast, an earlier study by Williams cited below shows no significant gender differences in sex role attitudes as a result of nonfamily living.

Annotated Bibliography

A bibliography is a formatted list of sources (books, articles, videos, news, websites, etc.) in alphabetical order on a topic.

Annotations vs. Abstracts

Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority. (http://olinuris.library.cornell.edu/ref/research/skill28.htm#what)