Textbooks
The Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Literature by Call Number: PL2658.E1 C64 2007ISBN: 0231138407Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.This is an important resource for Chinese literature in translation, offering a complete overview of twentieth-century writing from China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. It contained 152 works by 83 authors. There were 50 short stories (42 authors), 71 poems (30 authors), and 30 essays plus 1 excerpt from an autobiography (11 authors).
Running wild : new chinese writers by Call Number: PL2658.E8 R86 1994ISBN: 0231096488Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, c1994
WorldCat and DuXiu Knowledge Search
Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here
- Request a Purchase (If KU Libraries doesn't have it)This link will lead you to a form to fill out the requested item information. KU online log-in is required.
Keywords, concepts, controlled words
1. Identify Keywords
- personal name (author, writer, play writer, etc.) e.g. Yu, Hua, 1960- ; Su, Tong, 1963-
- name of a work (publication title, film title, drama title) in original language, in translations, etc. e.g.
Uniform Title: Wo de di wang sheng ya. English Title: My life as emperor - format or genre (videorecording, featured films)
| Title: | Da hong deng long gao gao gua [videorecording] = Raise the red lantern |
|---|
2. Identify Concept or time: different ideas which make up search topic
e.g. man-women relationships, urban culture, realism, print culture, women writers, avant-garde, experimentation, postmodern,contemporary, etc.
3. Use controlled words, subject terms: Use words and phrases in suggested reference or links indexed by the online search application.
e.g. Chinese literature -- 20th century -- History and Criticism.
Canxue, 1953---Translations into English
Chinese literature -- 20th century -- Translations into English.
Mo, Yan, 1955- (Author search)
Mo, Yan, 1955- --Criticism and interpretation. (critics)
4. Connect words and concepts: use logical (Boolean) operators (OR, AND, NOT) or use advanced search option
5. Follow the citations and reference bibliography from one source to another
Find Books
Search for authors, titles, or subjects:
examples:
Wang, Meng (ther are more than one Wang, Meng in the catalog. Which one is the correct author? You can check for each entry, or eliminate the impossible one from the date of birth.)
Wang, Meng, 1934- Bu li. English
Mo Yan => Mo, Yan, 1955- (2012 Nobel Prize: Literature)
Mo, Yan, 1955- Translations into English.
Pai Hsien-yung => Bai, Xianyong, 1937-
Required Reading
Red sorghum : a novel of China by Call Number: PL2886.O1684 H8613 1993ISBN: 0670844020Publication Date: 1993Hong gao liang jia zu. English.
New York : Viking, 1993.
Shifu, You'll Do Anything for a Laugh by Call Number: PL2886.O1684 S513 2001ISBN: 1559705655Publication Date: New York : Arcade Pub., 2001.
Love Must Not Be Forgotten by Call Number: PL2837.C486 A288 1986ISBN: 0835116980Publication Date: 1986-07-01
The Song of Everlasting Sorrow by Call Number: PL2919.A58 C4313 2008ISBN: 0231143427Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, c2008.
Raise the Red Lantern by Call Number: PL2904.T86 A24 1993ISBN: 0688122175Publication Date: 1993-07-01
I Wish I Were a Wolf by Call Number: PL2658.E1 I9 1994ISBN: 7800051242Publication Date: 1994-01-01Includes "You Can't Make Me Change," by Liu Xihong
Recommended Titles
Big Breasts and Wide Hips by Call Number: PL2886.O1684 F3813 2004ISBN: 1559706724Publication Date: 2004-11-17Feng ru fei tun. English
New York : Arcade Pub., 2004.
China's Avant-Garde Fiction : An Anthology by ISBN: 0822321009Publication Date: 1998-03-27Ge Fei, Yu Hua, Su Tong, Can Xue, Bei Cun,
Sun Ganlu, Ma Yuan
Contemporary Chinese Literature: From the Cultural Revolution to the Future by Call Number: PL2303 .H824 2007 WatsonISBN: 978-1403979827New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Fictional Authors, Imaginary Audiences: Modern Chinese Literature in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: PL2443 .M38 2003Bilingual series on modern Chinese literature. Hong Kong : Chinese UP, c2003.
Fictionality and reality in narrative discourse : a reading of four contemporary Taiwanese writers by [United States] : Dissertation.com, 2000.
Five Spice Street by Call Number: PL2912.A5174 W8213 2009ISBN: 9780300122275Publication Date: New Haven : Yale University Press, c2009.- The giants within [videorecording] : the portrait of Chinese writers : world lost words found (Zuo Jia Shen Ying 作家身影). byCall Number: PL2302 .G53 1998 Watson Library - Video Collection (4th Floor)Taibei Shi: Spring International, 1998.
13 videocassettes (50 min. each) English narration, Chinese dialogue with English voiceover, Chinese and English captions. 
The Limits of Realism: Chinese fiction in the revolutionary period by Call Number: PL2442 .A53 1990ISBN: 0520064364Publication Date: 1990-01-11Berkeley : University of California Press, c1990.
Includes bibliographical reference (p. 203-219).
Literature of China in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: PL2303 .M43 1997New York: Columbia UP, 1997.
Mediasphere Shanghai [electronic resource] : the aesthetics of cultural production by ISBN: 0824830814Publication Date: 2007Honolulu : University of Hawai’i Press, c2007.
Series: Studies of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute, Columbia University
Includes bibliographical references (p. 245-265) and index. Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Young rebels in contemporary Chinese cinema [electronic resource] by ISBN: 9789882206076Publication Date: Hong Kong : Hong Kong University Press. 2007.1. Re-forming China; 2. The Apolitics of Rebellion; 3. The Politics of Lifestyle; 4. Rock ’n’ Roll: From Rebellion to Consumption; 5. A British Comparison; Conclusion; Appendix 1: Selected Filmography of Chinese Films; Appendix 2: Selected Filmography of Non-Chinese Films; Notes; Bibliography; Index.- Zhongguo xian dai wen xue Zhong Ying dui zhao xi lie (Bilingual Series on Modern Chinese Literature).Call Number: (multiple items by individual author)Xianggang: Xianggang Zhong wen da xue, 2002-multiple titles and vols. by Hong Kong Chinese University)
Supplementary Book Chapters for 519 Students
Worlds Apart : Recent Chinese Writing and Its Audiences by Call Number: PL2303 .W67 1990ISBN: 0873325028Publication Date: 1990-07-31Includes “Sex and Society: The Fiction of Li Ang.”
Goldblatt, Howard. “Sex and Society: The Fiction of Li Ang.” In Howard Goldblatt, ed. Worlds Apart: Recent Chinese Writing and its Audiences. Armonk: M.E. Sharpe, 150-65.
Feminism/Femininity in Chinese Literature by Call Number: ON ORDERPublication Date: Amsterdam,: Rodopi, 2002Chiang, Shu-chen. “Rejection of Postmodern Abandon: Zhu Tianwen’s Fin-de-siecle Splendor.” pp. 45-66.
Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services
Request Materials (articles and books)
- Interlibrary Loan BorrowingDo you want to avoid having to key in bibliographic information on interlibrary loan or document delivery request forms? Find the citation you want in a KU Libraries database, click on the
button, and then click on “Request a loan or copy of this item”. You will need to authenticate but then the information will pre-populate into the request form. - Frequently Asked QuestionsAbout recall
Catalogs & Search Tips
CATALOGS
SEARCH TIPS
Identify Keywords: Before searching the Library Catalog or other databases, take a few minutes to write down all the words that describe your topic. Use these words in keyword searches. For more help with search strategies, follow the links immediately below.
- Effective Search Techinques (KU)
- Five-Step Search Strategy (UC Berkeley)
- Search Strategy Worksheet (Humboldt St. U)
Follow the Bibliographic Trail: An effective method for gathering reliable information is to follow the citations or references from one source to another. Just as internet links take you to other pages or sources recommended by a site's webmaster, the author of a book or article provides a series of notes or references in a bibliography. These references typically lead to other useful sources on the topic.
Use Worldcat to search the library cataolgs of other universities; then request to borrow books through KU Interlibrary Loan services.