Subject & Course Guides: International Students' Guide to Research Skills and Using the KU Libraries: Citations

Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction

Citation Styles
Citation styles differ mostly in the location, order, and syntax of information about references. The number and diversity of citation styles reflect different priorities with respect to concision, readability, dates, authors, publications, and, of course, style. (plagiarism.org)
Which Citation System Should I Use?
This guide provides an introduction to style manuals covering the citation systems used in a variety of disciplines. (University of Washington)

Click below to go the KU Writing Center's homepage.

Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
more...less...
Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.

YouTube - Getting Started with Zotero: Using Zotero Standalone
LMU Library, 2013
How to Select and Use Citation Management Tools - Zotero
This guide contains information on different tools that will make citing sources in your papers easier.

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style by American Psychological Association
Publication Date: 2019
7th edition. Print.
APA style guide to electronic references
Publication Date: 2012
6th edition. Print version.
APA style guide to electronic references
Publication Date: 2012
Online resource. Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.

MyBib
MyBib is a free bibliography and citation generator that makes accurate citations for you to copy straight into your academic assignments and papers.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America
Publication Date: 2021
In library use only - Watson & Anschutz libraries.
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"--

MLA Handbook Plus
MLA Handbook Plus is a new, subscription-based digital product providing online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.

MLA Format
(KU Writing Center)
Writing Resources
(KU Writing Center)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
(This site created by the Online Writing Lab of Purdue University has many links to MLA format sites.)
MLA Documentation
(University of Wisconsin at Madison Writing Center)
Citation Management--MLA Citation Style
(Cornell University Library)

KU Thesis and Dissertation Formatting
Information for University of Kansas graduate students on required content order, page numbering, creating headings, formatting table of contents, adding captions, creating a table of figures and embedding fonts for theses and dissertations.