Skip to main content

African American Rights Activities and Movements: Home

This subject guide provides information on selected primary resources held at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas for the study and teaching of African American rights activities and movements.

Using this Guide

This subject guide provides information on selected primary sources from the Kansas Collection, the University Archives and the Wilcox Collection of Contemporary Political Movements held at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas for the study and teaching of African American rights activities and movements. Please use the tabs above to navigate the different pages of this guide. 

KSRL is the rare books, manuscripts, and archives library at the University of Kansas. The library is home to Special Collections, the Kansas Collection, the University Archives, and the Wilcox Collection of Contemporary Political Movements.

Available in the Reading Room are the University yearbooks; the Alumni Magazine; and index lists to the University Daily Kansan (UDK). The UDK and Newspaper Clippings indexes includes a list of articles about student protests, civil rights, and African Americans.

 

Related Guides

An introductory guide for research in African American Studies, with suggested databases, books, primary resources, and more. The following is a database comprised of primary resources on African American rights activism:

  • ProQuest history vault- Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle: Features records of NAACP, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the black freedom struggle. The following are also included: papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM); Mary McLeod Bethune papers; records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC); Bayard Rustin Papers; and Claude A. Barnet papers.  

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.