Recommended Databases
-
Latin American newsstand This link opens in a new windowLatin American Newsstand provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from 11 Latin American countries: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela.
-
World newspaper archive. Latin American newspapers Series 1 and Series 2 This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of Historical Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Including a small number of Caribbean news sources.
-
Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America from 1959 to present.
-
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library"The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."
-
Google News ArchiveSome Latin American Historical Newspapers available through google's digitization project -- primarily Mexican news sources available here.
Selected Resources
-
Hemeroteca DigitalBiblioteca Nacional de España. Comprised a variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, technical, literary, sports, religious, etc., ranging from 1772 to 1933. Digitized by the National Library of Spain.
-
Latin American and Caribbean Newspapers"LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region."
Research Help
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.