Scholarly Sources in Academic Research
As students pursue higher education, an emphasis will be placed on the use of scholarly sources when conducting research. The information on this page will provide a good starting point for such research.
Databases
A database is a large collection of scholarly articles grouped together by type which you can search by different search criteria. Below you will find some excellent starting points for your research.
- ProQuest research library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database available that indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
- Web of science This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present). This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the KU Medical Center.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowA web search engine that provides a way to search the scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowContains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.
Scholarly Articles on First Generation Success
Morales, Erik E. (2012). Navigating New Worlds: A Real-Time Look at How Successful and Non-Successful First-Generation College Students Negotiate Their First Semesters. International Journal of Higher Education 1(1), 90-101. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1055402.pdf
Palbusa, J.A., & Gauvain, M. (2017). Parent–Student Communication About College and Freshman Grades in First-Generation and Non–First-Generation Students. Journal of College Student Development 58(1), 107-112. doi:10.1353/csd.2017.0007.