Databases for Finding Articles
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowContains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to around 196,000 pages of scholarship on 15 different academic subjects.
- International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text This link opens in a new windowInternational Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College. This databank contains over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and the performance arts, including dance, in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracts, and selected full-text from many sources, covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Full-text ranges from 1864 to the present.
- Gale literature resource center This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Includes essays on the history of specific publishing companies.
- New York Times with index This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full page and article images with searchable full-text from 1851 to 4 years ago.
- Play index This link opens in a new windowFind citations to some 30,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present in the convenient electronic form. This is an invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays to match your production resources. A descriptive annotation summarizes the plot and indicates any musical requirements: chorus, singing, dancing etc., and indicates number of sets, noting whether scenery requirements are interior or exterior. Covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
- World Shakespeare bibliography This link opens in a new windowIncludes annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The goal is to add material published or produced since 1900. Each year, coverage will move forward one year and backwards at least three years.
- Literature online This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language--poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries. Individual units run from Anglo-Saxon literature, through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the 18th and 19th centuries right up to the late 20th Century. LION also offers comprehensive cross-searching of EEBO - Early English Books Online.
Theatre Journals
DramaticsPublishes articles on acting, directing, playwriting, and technology. Online Access available.
Journal of Dramatic Theory & CriticismThe Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism (JDTC) was founded in 1986 at the University of Kansas and publishes full-length articles that contribute to the varied conversations in dramatic theory and criticism, explore the relationship between theory and theatre practice, and/or examine recent scholarship by a single author. JDTC is published twice each year by the Department of Theatre with support from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. This electronic edition provides free access to the back issues of the journal. All issues published after 2011 are available via print subscription and online through Project Muse.
Modern DramaScholarly journal covering research in world drama from 1850 to the present. Online Access.
19th Century Theatre and FilmPublishes research on 19th century performance: theatre, early film, ‘pre-cinema’ optical and narrative forms, and illusions. Online Access.
Text and Performance QuarterlyTPQ publishes scholarship that explores and advances the study of performance as a social, communicative practice; as a technology of representation and expression; and as a hermeneutic. Articles address performance and the performative from a wide range of perspectives and methodologies, and they investigate all sites of performance from the classical stage to popular culture to the practices of everyday life. Online Access.
Performance ResearchCovers contemporary and historical performance and promotes a cross-disciplinary exchange of ideas, images and analysis. Online Access.
The Drama Review (TDR)The journal for design, production, and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry. Online Access Available via JSTOR and Project Muse
Theatre Design & TechnologyCovers research in all areas of theatre history. Online Access.
Theatre History StudiesProvides a forum for writing about performances and their social, economic, and political contexts, emphasizing the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural, and interdisciplinary. Online Access.
Theatre JournalFeatures social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical analysis of dramatic texts and production. Online Access.
Theatre NotebookA journal of the history and technique of the British theatre. Online Access.
Theatre Research InternationalPresents history and criticism of drama and the art of the theatre. Online Access.
Theatre SurveyProvides rigorous historical and theoretical studies of performance across all periods. Online Access.
Youth Theatre JournalIncludes articles covering theater and drama education for young audiences. Online Access.