Finding Tests
Please note: The KU Libraries does not own an extensive collection of tests due to usage restrictions and copyright expenses. However, we do have many tools that provide information about tests and a collection of Tests in Microfiche.
General Test Information Online
- Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests in PrintContains descriptive information and critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests. Contains the text of the Buros Institute'sYearbooks. Tests in Print includes current information about test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, and test authors.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowrovides indexing and abstracts to the education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering the published journal literature. Many of the documents, identified by the ED number, are available full text.
- Test Reviews On-LineThe Buros Institute offers a web site that provides free information on more than 4,000 commercially available tests, included current publisher information. More than 2,000 of those tests have been carefully reviewed by the Buros Institute and can be ordered on-line.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in psychology and psychiatry.
- Educational Testing Services (ETS)ETS conducts assessment and policy research and develops assessments and related services to advance quality and equity in learning worldwide
General Print Bibliographies
- Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, adn BusinessInformation on thousands of assessment instruments.
- Test CritiquesDetailed descriptions of tests
- Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional, and Research LibrariesInformation on tests published by ETS with resources for test takers
- ETS Test Collection. Tests in Microfiche Sets A-WCumulative index to sets A-X. Testing instruments and some test manuals
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental MeasuresLists unpublished mental measures reported in psychology, sociology, educational psychology, and counseling journals from 1970-2000.
- Testing and Standards: A Brief EncyclopediaBasics of what teachers and students need to know about testing and standards, including criterion, equity, scoring, politics of testing, validity, and test security.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.