Subject & Course Guides: Social Policy and Program Analysis: Home

Library Links

KU Libraries Home Page
WebRetrieve: Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan
KU Libraries GIS & Data Lab
Provides workspace for KU students, staff and faculty, as well as one-on-one assistance with spatial and statistical data. Users also have access to tutorials, specialized software, large-format scanning and printing, and other resources that support GIS-related teaching and research at KU.
Library Research Tutorials & Help
"This guide includes how-to videos and useful resources to help you with your library research."
KU Writing Center

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help social work students develop a strategy for doing social policy research and to introduce a variety of information sources that support this type of research. The focus is on federal policy, although a section on state policy resources is included.

Please click on tabs above to find information such as Frequently Asked Questions about Federal Policy Research, relevant databases and websites, government information, and think tanks and advocacy groups.

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Social Work
The 400 articles in this 4-volume set cover all aspects of social work from practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history
Social Work Speaks: NASW Policy Statements (Print)
Shelved at Watson Library-Reference (In Library Use Only)
HV85 .N33a
Code of Ethics of the National Association of Social Workers
CQ Public Affairs Collection
"Provides current affairs content in a fully integrated reference tool. Some subjects are advocacy and public service, education, energy, the environment, health, and transportation. Provides in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas. "

Women and social movements in the United States. Basic edition This link opens in a new window
Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities, organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. This full-text resource also provides learning modules in the form of document projects, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.

Green Book : Background Materials and Data on the Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Way and Means by United States. Congress. House. Committee on Ways and Means.
Publication Date: 1981-present
"Since 1981, the Committee on Ways and Means has published the Green Book, which presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee's jurisdiction. Over the decades, the Green Book has become a valuable resource and standard reference on American social policy. It is widely used by Members of Congress and their staffs, analysts in congressional and administrative agencies, members of the media, scholars, and citizens interested in the Nation's social policy."