Biomedical Image Databases
- Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Image GalleriesThe HHS Image Galleries website list a total of 26 image databases from the HHS, Center for Disease Control (CDC), and National Institutes of Health (NIH). Many of the images in these databases are in the public domain, but you will still need to check the copyright and attribution statements. Copyright information can be found on the page for each individual collection.
- World Health Organization (WHO) Photo LibraryThe WHO Photo Library mostly contains images of people from around the world related to topics of health and disease, public health (i.e. environmental conditions), and the history of public health. Copyright information can be found here: http://www.who.int/about/copyright/en/
- Openi: Open Access Biomedical Search EngineOpeni is a search engine that allows for searching and retrieval of images from open source literature and biomedical image collections. The image sources include PubMed Central, x-rays with radiology reports, NLM History of Medicine collection, and orthopedic illustrations. Copyright information can be found on the FAQ page here: https://openi.nlm.nih.gov/faq.php
KU Libraries Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is one of KU Libraries subscription databases that provides an image search of books and over 2,000 journals published by Elsevier within the areas of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences starting from 1995. The image search includes figures, photos, and video. Use the help section to learn more about searching this database. Copyright information can be found here: https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/support/rights-and-permissions
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowAccessPharmacy is one of KU Libraries subscription databases that provides downloadable human anatomy images as slides under the Patient Ed tab. It is a curricular resource for pharmacy education includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more. Mobile access requires a personal profile username and password. Copyright information can be found here: https://www.accessusercenter.com/pages/terms-mgh
