HIST 348: History of the Peoples of Kansas: Home

An encyclopedia devoted to Kansas.

Primary Sources from the Kansas Historical Society.

Full text from 2002 to present. To search only this journal, click on the "Search within this publication" link just above the title.

Browse issues of the state's current history journal. The full text from most issues from 1978 to 2009 can be found in Kansas Memory, but they are not searchable.

Browse the quarterly journal of the Kanas Historical Society from 1931 to 1977. The full text can be accessed through Kansas Memory

Browse issues of the state's first historical journal. Full text is available via Kansas Memory

Civil War on the Western Border provides access to selected primary source material, interactive features, and scholarly essays concerning Missouri-Kansas Border War, 1854-1865.

Print volumes describing and promoting the settlement of Kansas and the American West in the 1870s.

An online resource to publications from various state agencies. It is not comprehensive, but materials date back to the founding of Kansas.

Although created for insurance purposes, these maps can provide important insight into towns and cities. KU's collection includes maps from 1883 to 1922.

The Leon K. Hughes Photography Collection is a chronicle of African American family and community life in Wichita, Kansas from the late 1940s through the 1970s.

A sample of over 500 oral histories with retired KU faculty, staff, and spouses.

Feminist Perspectives aired in the first half of the 1970s and typically included University of Kansas faculty and staff commentating upon issues related to women's rights, equality, and feminism.

Browse over 35,000 photos from the University Archives. There are many more available in print.

A sample of digitized videos from the University Archives.