U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs)
Regional libraries with Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRC), part of a nationwide network of public, state, and academic libraries designated by the USPTO to support the public with trademark and patent assistance.
Regional Library List
Linda Hall Library, Kansas City, Missouri
Ablah Library, Wichita State University, Kansas
Understanding Patents
- Anatomy of a U.S. Utility PatentThis source was retrieved from https://www.nsf.gov/news/special_reports/
communitycollege/assets/
Anatomy_of_a_US_patent.pdf on 20170828. It is adapted from library.queensu.ca/webeng/patents/
Anatomy_of_a_US_patent.pdf. Courtesy of Michael White, Queen’s University March 2016.
- WIPO INID Codes: Standard ST.9World Intellectual Property Information (WIPO), Internationally agreed Numbers for the Identification of
(bibliographic) Data (INID) codes are published in the Handbook on Industrial Property Information and Documentation. The INID codes are used to identify to the each comment of a the patent document. These INID codes are an international standard, therefore, they are universal on all patent documents across countries and organizations. - USTPO Pantent "Kind Codes"This webpage explains the letter designations associated with patent identification numbers.
- Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) Classification SchemeThis is an index of the CPC classification scheme.
- USPTO Classification IndexThis is the USPTO index with titles.
Patent Searching
Links to major patent search engines are listed here. The USPTO will be the most authoritative source for United States patents and patent applications while other sites might offer an easier to user interface.
- Espacenet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide patent information. Patents by member states of the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Organization are included. Years of coverage and availability of full text and images vary by country. A link to a pocket search guide can be found here: https://link.epo.org/web/technical/espacenet/espacenet-pocket-guide-en.pdf
- Google PatentsGoogle Patents covers the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO and the EPO. US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO to 1978.
- Patent LensThe site provides an easy to search interface for international patents including US, Europe, and Australia.
- USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark OfficeThe most authoritative source for U.S. patents and patent applications. This website provides information including applying for and searching for patents.
- USPTO Patent Public SearchThis link goes directly to the USPTO search page.
- USPTO Patent Classification SearchThis search allows you to search by classification instead of by keyword.
- WIPO - World Intellectual Property OrganizationWIPO includes a directory of intellectual property offices around the world plus news and resources.
- SciFinder-nComprehensive database for the chemical literature. Use reference searching and then select patents to access PatentPak, a linked guide to relevant patents. Registration is required using your KU student credentials: https://lib.ku.edu/scifinder-n
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.